GE Appliances Water Filters
GE Appliances holds active listings in all three directories we index โ but they are split: NSF lists its NSF/ANSI 42, 44 and 58 systems, while its NSF/ANSI 53 health-effects certification is held at IAPMO R&T.
Best for
- Owners of a GE under-sink reverse-osmosis system, listed for lead, fluoride, arsenic, nitrate and cyst reduction
- Buyers of a GE whole-house filter or softener, listed under NSF/ANSI 42 and NSF/ANSI 44
- Anyone checking a GE certification claim, where the answer depends on which directory you search
Not recommended for
- Buyers who read a GE refrigerator filter's NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 row as a lead-reduction claim โ it is a material standard
- Anyone searching NSF alone: GE's 53, 401, 177, P231 and P473 listings are all held at IAPMO R&T
- Households that need a per-contaminant scope for the health-effects files, which the directory record does not itemize
- Certs:NSF/ANSI 42, 44, 53, 58, 61, 177, 372, 401, NSF P231, NSF P473
- 10 SKUs
- Parent:Haier (listee of record: GE Appliances, a Haier Company)
Certification Reality: What's Actually Tested
This table shows the NSF/IAPMO/WQA-listed certifications for each GE Appliances SKU we tracked, alongside the contaminants the brand markets but which do not appear on the third-party listing. Green chips are third-party verified; amber chips are marketing claims without a corresponding listing. Every row links to the live certifier database so you can verify the listed claim set yourself.
| SKU / Model | Standards held | Whatโs certified | Brand claims but NOT certified | NSF listing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
GXRV40TBN Under-sink reverse osmosis (GNRQ18NBN / GXRQ18NBN / GXRV40TBN) โ listed by NSF, and by IAPMO R&T as file WC-9859 | Performance NSF/ANSI 42 NSF/ANSI 58 |
| No discrepancy
| View NSF listing |
W-9756 IAPMO R&T files W-9756 and WC-11734 โ water treatment product, health effects. GE's NSF/ANSI 53 certification, and it is not in NSF's directory | Performance NSF/ANSI 53 |
| No discrepancy
| View NSF listing |
W-9758 IAPMO R&T files W-9758 / WC-11735 (emerging compounds) and W-11362 / WC-11736 (PFOA and PFOS) | Performance NSF/ANSI 401 NSF P473 |
| No discrepancy
| View NSF listing |
WQA-refrigerator-filter GE refrigerator filter โ WQA row. NSF/ANSI 42 performance plus NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 material content | Performance NSF/ANSI 42 Material & component safety NSF/ANSI 372 |
| No discrepancy
| View NSF listing |
GXWH60T Whole-house filtration (GXWH60T, GXMH31H) and cation-exchange softeners (GXSF30V, GXSH40V, GXSH45V, GXSHC40N) | Performance NSF/ANSI 42 NSF/ANSI 44 |
| No discrepancy
| View NSF listing |
GXRV40TBN
Under-sink reverse osmosis (GNRQ18NBN / GXRQ18NBN / GXRV40TBN) โ listed by NSF, and by IAPMO R&T as file WC-9859
Standards held
Performance
Whatโs certified
- Lead reduction (NSF/ANSI 58)
- Fluoride reduction (NSF/ANSI 58)
- Arsenic (pentavalent) reduction at or below 300 ppb (NSF/ANSI 58)
- Nitrate and nitrite reduction (NSF/ANSI 58)
- Cysts (NSF/ANSI 58)
- Hexavalent chromium reduction (NSF/ANSI 58)
- Trivalent chromium reduction (NSF/ANSI 58)
- Barium, cadmium, copper and selenium reduction (NSF/ANSI 58)
- Asbestos, turbidity and total dissolved solids reduction (NSF/ANSI 58)
- Radium 226/228 reduction (NSF/ANSI 58)
- Chlorine and taste and odor reduction (NSF/ANSI 42)
Brand claims but NOT certified
No discrepancyWe have not audited GE's marketing copy in this pass, so this column reports nothing rather than a finding of no gap. What we did verify is the listing: the arsenic claim is conditional โ it applies only to supplies at or below the referenced concentration and valency, so it is not a general arsenic guarantee.
Read more
NSF listing
View NSF listingW-9756
IAPMO R&T files W-9756 and WC-11734 โ water treatment product, health effects. GE's NSF/ANSI 53 certification, and it is not in NSF's directory
Standards held
Performance
Whatโs certified
- Health effects โ the directory record names the standard and the product category, and does not itemize the contaminants
Brand claims but NOT certified
No discrepancyThis is the row a reader who searched only NSF would never see. NSF returns no NSF/ANSI 53 section for GE Appliances; IAPMO R&T returns two Active ones. IAPMO R&T certifies against the same NSF/ANSI standards, so these are equivalent third-party certifications. What the directory does not give is the contaminant scope of each file, so we do not publish one โ ask GE for the certificate to see which contaminants a specific product covers.
Read more
NSF listing
View NSF listingW-9758
IAPMO R&T files W-9758 / WC-11735 (emerging compounds) and W-11362 / WC-11736 (PFOA and PFOS)
Standards held
Performance
Whatโs certified
- PFOA and PFOS (NSF P473)
- Emerging compounds and incidental contaminants (NSF/ANSI 401)
Brand claims but NOT certified
No discrepancyNSF P473 is the PFOA and PFOS protocol; NSF/ANSI 401 is the wider emerging-compounds set. Both of GE's are held at IAPMO R&T, and neither appears in NSF's results for this company. The files do not say which GE products they cover, so match the file to your specific model before assuming your filter is in scope.
Read more
NSF listing
View NSF listingWQA-refrigerator-filter
GE refrigerator filter โ WQA row. NSF/ANSI 42 performance plus NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 material content
Standards held
Performance
Material & component safety
Whatโs certified
- Aesthetic chlorine (NSF/ANSI 42)
- Nominal particulate, Class V (NSF/ANSI 42)
Brand claims but NOT certified
No discrepancyThe trap on this row: NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 is a lead CONTENT standard. It certifies that the part itself is lead-free as a material โ it is not a claim that the filter reduces lead in your water. That claim would be NSF/ANSI 53, and it is not on this row. The listed performance here is aesthetic chlorine and nominal particulate Class V.
Read more
NSF listing
View NSF listingGXWH60T
Whole-house filtration (GXWH60T, GXMH31H) and cation-exchange softeners (GXSF30V, GXSH40V, GXSH45V, GXSHC40N)
Standards held
Performance
Whatโs certified
- Chlorine reduction (NSF/ANSI 42)
- Taste and odor reduction (NSF/ANSI 42)
- Hardness reduction (NSF/ANSI 44)
- Barium reduction (NSF/ANSI 44)
- Radium 226/228 reduction (NSF/ANSI 44)
- Efficiency rated (NSF/ANSI 44)
Brand claims but NOT certified
No discrepancyA whole-house GE unit is listed for aesthetic effects, not for health effects. NSF/ANSI 42 covers chlorine, taste and odor; NSF/ANSI 44 covers hardness, barium and radium on a softener. If you need certified reduction of lead, fluoride, arsenic or nitrate, that sits on the under-sink reverse-osmosis line, not on these.
Read more
NSF listing
View NSF listingCheck Certification for a GE Appliances Filter
This widget shows the third-party-listed certifications for GE Appliances SKUs only. Type a model number to filter the list below โ every result links to the full breakdown. To search across every brand we track, use the global certification tool.
- View details
GNRQ18NBN[1]
GE Appliances, a Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 42, 58 - View details
GXRQ18NBN[1]
GE Appliances, a Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 42, 58 - View details
GXRV40TBN[1]
GE Appliances, a Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 42 - View details
GXMH31H
GE Appliances, a Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 42 - View details
GXWH60T
GE Appliances, A Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 42 - View details
GXRV40TBN
GE Appliances, a Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 58 - View details
GXMH31H[2]
GE Appliances, a Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 44 - View details
GXSF30V[2]
GE Appliances, a Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 44 - View details
GXSH40V[2]
GE Appliances, a Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 44 - View details
GXSH45V[2]
GE Appliances, a Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 44 - View details
GXSHC40N[2]
GE Appliances, a Haier Company
NSF/ANSI 44 - View details
W-9755
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 42 - View details
WC-9892
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 42 - View details
W-9756
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 53 - View details
WC-11734
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 53 - View details
WC-9859
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 58 - View details
K-13334
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 61 - View details
K-13335
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 372 - View details
W-9757
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 372 - View details
W-11362
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF P473 - View details
WC-11736
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF P473 - View details
W-29819
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 44 - View details
W-14289
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 177 - View details
W-9758
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 401 - View details
WC-11735
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF/ANSI 401 - View details
WC-13808
GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY
NSF P231 - View details
GXRTDR
GE Appliances, a Haier Company. Water Filtration Systems
NSF/ANSI 42, 372
Listings as of Jun 4, 2026.
About GE Appliances
GE Appliances is certified โ but you have to look in more than one place to see it. NSF's drinking water treatment unit directory lists the company under NSF/ANSI 42 (chlorine, taste and odor), NSF/ANSI 44 (softeners) and NSF/ANSI 58 (reverse osmosis), plus CSA B483.1. That same search returns no NSF/ANSI 53 section at all.
IAPMO R&T does. Its listee record for GE Appliances carries 18 files, every one of them Active, including two NSF/ANSI 53 health-effects listings (W-9756 and WC-11734) and files for NSF/ANSI 401, NSF/ANSI 177, NSF P231, NSF P473, NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 and NSF/ANSI/CAN 372.
WQA adds three more rows, one of them a refrigerator filter certified to NSF/ANSI/CAN 372.
- IAPMO R&T and WQA certify against the same NSF/ANSI standards NSF does. A listing from either is an equivalent third-party certification, not a lesser one โ UL Solutions and CSA Group certify to these standards too.
- So "GE is not NSF certified for health effects" is a false conclusion drawn from a partial search. The certification exists; the certifier is IAPMO R&T.
Under-sink reverse osmosis (GNRQ18NBN, GXRQ18NBN, GXRV40TBN)
The broadest certified scope in the GE line, and the only place a certified lead reduction claim appears.
- Listed by NSF under NSF/ANSI 58 for arsenic (pentavalent, at or below 300 ppb), asbestos, barium, cadmium, hexavalent and trivalent chromium, copper, cysts, fluoride, lead, nitrate and nitrite, radium 226/228, selenium, total dissolved solids and turbidity.
- Also NSF/ANSI 42 for chlorine and taste and odor, and CSA B483.1.
- Rated production: 14.76 gallons per day on modules FQ18MN / FQ18PN.
- Also listed at IAPMO R&T as file WC-9859, water conditioners (reverse osmosis), NSF/ANSI 58.
Whole-house filtration (GXWH60T, GXMH31H)
Point-of-entry housings listed for aesthetic effects only.
- GXWH60T โ NSF/ANSI 42 chlorine and taste and odor, element FXWPX, 15,000 gallons at 4 gpm, plus CSA B483.1.
- GXMH31H โ NSF/ANSI 42 chlorine and taste and odor, 570,000 gallons at 8 gpm.
- Neither carries a health-effects claim at NSF; NSF/ANSI 42 covers taste, odor and chlorine, not contaminant reduction.
Cation-exchange water softeners (GXSF30V, GXSH40V, GXSH45V, GXSHC40N, GXMH31H)
Softeners, listed by NSF under NSF/ANSI 44.
- Listed claims: hardness reduction, barium reduction, radium 226/228 reduction, and efficiency rated.
- Service flow: 7.5 gpm (GXSF30V), 8 gpm (GXMH31H) and 9.5 gpm (GXSH40V, GXSH45V, GXSHC40N).
- Also at IAPMO R&T as file W-29819, residential cation exchange water softeners, NSF/ANSI 44.
Refrigerator filters
The highest-volume GE filter category, and the one most often misread.
- WQA lists a GE refrigerator filter under NSF/ANSI 42 for aesthetic chlorine and nominal particulate Class V.
- The same product's other WQA row is NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 โ lead content, meaning the part is lead-free as a material. That is not a lead-reduction claim.
- A certified lead reduction claim on a GE product appears on the under-sink reverse-osmosis systems above, under NSF/ANSI 58.
Shower filtration and microbiological purifiers (IAPMO R&T files)
Two categories that appear only in IAPMO R&T's results for this company.
- W-14289 โ shower filtration systems, aesthetic effects, NSF/ANSI 177.
- WC-13808 โ microbiological water purifiers, NSF P231.
- Both are Active. Neither appears in NSF's own results for GE Appliances, which is why a single-directory search understates this brand.
NSF's record puts GE Appliances at Appliance Park AP2-120, Louisville, Kentucky 40225, and names three manufacturing facilities on the GE listings: Iuka, Mississippi; Ripley, Mississippi; and Pingtung, Taiwan.
The directory does not attribute individual model numbers to individual plants, so we do not publish a per-SKU country of origin.
The facility list is part of the listing itself: where a certified product is built is inside the scope a certifier audits, which is one of the practical differences between a certified product and one that is merely tested once.
GE Appliances products we have verified
Each page checks the model's certification listings live in the NSF, IAPMO R&T and WQA directories, separates what the brand claims from what a certifier has listed, and prices ten years of ownership.
- GE Appliances MWF replacement filter: fit and true cost
Replacement element ยท checked 2026-08-30
- GE Appliances RPWFE replacement filter: fit and true cost
Replacement element ยท checked 2026-08-30
- GE Appliances FTHLM replacement filter: fit and true cost
Replacement element ยท checked 2026-09-02
- GE Appliances XWFE replacement filter: fit and true cost
Replacement element ยท checked 2026-08-30
Which GE Appliances Filter Is Right for You?
We mapped each GE Appliances SKUโs NSF-listed certifications against the 10 contaminants people search for most. Where GE Appliances doesnโt have a certified SKU, we say so.
How GE Appliances Compares
GE Appliances at NSF vs GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T
| Feature | GE Appliances at NSF | GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T |
|---|---|---|
| NSF/ANSI 42 โ aesthetic effects | Yes (GNRQ18NBN, GXRQ18NBN, GXRV40TBN, GXMH31H, GXWH60T) | Yes (files W-9755, WC-9892) |
| NSF/ANSI 44 โ softeners | Yes (GXMH31H, GXSF30V, GXSH40V, GXSH45V, GXSHC40N) | Yes (file W-29819) |
| NSF/ANSI 53 โ health effects | No section returned for this manufacturer | Yes โ W-9756 and WC-11734, both Active |
| NSF/ANSI 58 โ reverse osmosis | Yes (GNRQ18NBN, GXRQ18NBN, GXRV40TBN, 14.76 gpd) | Yes (file WC-9859) |
| NSF/ANSI 401 โ emerging compounds | Not in the results | Yes โ W-9758 and WC-11735 |
| NSF P473 โ PFOA and PFOS | Not in the results | Yes โ W-11362 and WC-11736 |
| NSF/ANSI 177 โ shower filtration | Not in the results | Yes โ W-14289 |
| NSF P231 โ microbiological purifiers | Not in the results | Yes โ WC-13808 |
| Files or products returned | 6 manufacturers / 20 products on the company search | 18 files, all Active |
NSF/ANSI 42 โ aesthetic effects
GE Appliances at NSF
Yes (GNRQ18NBN, GXRQ18NBN, GXRV40TBN, GXMH31H, GXWH60T)
GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T
Yes (files W-9755, WC-9892)
NSF/ANSI 44 โ softeners
GE Appliances at NSF
Yes (GXMH31H, GXSF30V, GXSH40V, GXSH45V, GXSHC40N)
GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T
Yes (file W-29819)
NSF/ANSI 53 โ health effects
GE Appliances at NSF
No section returned for this manufacturer
GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T
Yes โ W-9756 and WC-11734, both Active
NSF/ANSI 58 โ reverse osmosis
GE Appliances at NSF
Yes (GNRQ18NBN, GXRQ18NBN, GXRV40TBN, 14.76 gpd)
GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T
Yes (file WC-9859)
NSF/ANSI 401 โ emerging compounds
GE Appliances at NSF
Not in the results
GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T
Yes โ W-9758 and WC-11735
NSF P473 โ PFOA and PFOS
GE Appliances at NSF
Not in the results
GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T
Yes โ W-11362 and WC-11736
NSF/ANSI 177 โ shower filtration
GE Appliances at NSF
Not in the results
GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T
Yes โ W-14289
NSF P231 โ microbiological purifiers
GE Appliances at NSF
Not in the results
GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T
Yes โ WC-13808
Files or products returned
GE Appliances at NSF
6 manufacturers / 20 products on the company search
GE Appliances at IAPMO R&T
18 files, all Active
Bottom line: the two directories give different answers about the same company, and only one of them is complete.
- Search NSF alone and GE looks like an aesthetic-effects and softener brand with one reverse-osmosis line. No health-effects certification, no PFAS protocol, no emerging compounds.
- Search IAPMO R&T and four more standards appear, including two Active NSF/ANSI 53 health-effects files.
Both bodies certify against the same NSF/ANSI standards, so neither listing outranks the other. The practical rule: check every directory before concluding a brand is uncertified for something.
Sources for facts in this comparison
- NSF listingaccessed: 2026-08-25https://info.nsf.org/Certified/dwtu/listings.asp?CompanyName=GE+Appliances&submit1=Search+by+Manufacturer&Program=DWTU
- GE Appliances sections under NSF/ANSI 42, 44, 58 and CSA B483.1, with no NSF/ANSI 53 section
- Company search footer reports 6 matching manufacturers and 20 matching products
- IAPMO listingaccessed: 2026-08-24https://pld.iapmo.org/
- 18 Active files under the GE Appliances listee across NSF/ANSI 42, 44, 53, 58, 177, 401, NSF P231, NSF P473, NSF/ANSI/CAN 61, NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 and CSA B483.1
GE under-sink reverse osmosis vs GE refrigerator filter
| Feature | GE under-sink reverse osmosis | GE refrigerator filter |
|---|---|---|
| Certifier and record | NSF (GNRQ18NBN, GXRQ18NBN, GXRV40TBN) | WQA (refrigerator filter row) |
| Standards held | NSF/ANSI 42 and NSF/ANSI 58, plus CSA B483.1 | NSF/ANSI 42 and NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 |
| Certified lead reduction | Yes โ lead is a listed NSF/ANSI 58 claim | No โ NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 is lead content, not lead reduction |
| Certified fluoride, arsenic, nitrate | Yes โ all three are listed NSF/ANSI 58 claims | Not listed |
| Chlorine, taste and odor | Yes (NSF/ANSI 42) | Yes โ aesthetic chlorine (NSF/ANSI 42) |
| Particulate | Turbidity reduction (NSF/ANSI 58) | Nominal particulate, Class V (NSF/ANSI 42) |
| Rated output | 14.76 gallons per day | Not stated on the directory row |
Certifier and record
GE under-sink reverse osmosis
NSF (GNRQ18NBN, GXRQ18NBN, GXRV40TBN)
GE refrigerator filter
WQA (refrigerator filter row)
Standards held
GE under-sink reverse osmosis
NSF/ANSI 42 and NSF/ANSI 58, plus CSA B483.1
GE refrigerator filter
NSF/ANSI 42 and NSF/ANSI/CAN 372
Certified lead reduction
GE under-sink reverse osmosis
Yes โ lead is a listed NSF/ANSI 58 claim
GE refrigerator filter
No โ NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 is lead content, not lead reduction
Certified fluoride, arsenic, nitrate
GE under-sink reverse osmosis
Yes โ all three are listed NSF/ANSI 58 claims
GE refrigerator filter
Not listed
Chlorine, taste and odor
GE under-sink reverse osmosis
Yes (NSF/ANSI 42)
GE refrigerator filter
Yes โ aesthetic chlorine (NSF/ANSI 42)
Particulate
GE under-sink reverse osmosis
Turbidity reduction (NSF/ANSI 58)
GE refrigerator filter
Nominal particulate, Class V (NSF/ANSI 42)
Rated output
GE under-sink reverse osmosis
14.76 gallons per day
GE refrigerator filter
Not stated on the directory row
Bottom line: if lead is why you are buying, the refrigerator filter is not the GE product that covers it.
- The NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 badge on a refrigerator filter is a materials claim. It says the part is lead-free โ that it will not add lead to your water. It says nothing about taking lead out.
- Certified lead reduction on a GE product sits on the under-sink reverse-osmosis systems, under NSF/ANSI 58, along with fluoride, arsenic, nitrate and cyst claims.
The refrigerator filter is still a genuine NSF/ANSI 42 listing for chlorine and particulate. It is just a different job.
Sources for facts in this comparison
- NSF listingaccessed: 2026-08-25https://info.nsf.org/Certified/dwtu/listings.asp?CompanyName=GE+Appliances&submit1=Search+by+Manufacturer&Program=DWTU
- NSF/ANSI 58 listed claims on GNRQ18NBN, GXRQ18NBN and GXRV40TBN include lead, fluoride, arsenic (pentavalent), nitrate and nitrite, cysts and turbidity, at 14.76 gpd
- WQA listingaccessed: 2026-08-24https://find.wqa.org/find-products#/keyword/GE%20Appliances
- The GE refrigerator-filter row is NSF/ANSI/CAN 372, lead content, in WQA's Lead Free category
- The GE point-of-use row is NSF/ANSI 42 with aesthetic chlorine and nominal particulate Class V reduction claims
Looking for a broader comparison? See our full refrigerator filter roundup.
Explore other brands: APEC Water Systems, AquaBliss, Aquaboon, AquaTru, iSpring, Kind Water Systems, Multipure, LifeStraw, Whirlpool, Solventum, SpringWell Water Filtration Systems, Pentair, Omnipure, Pelican Water, Crystal Quest, Hydroviv, Brondell, Bluevua, Berkey, ZeroWater, Aquasana, Express Water, Frizzlife, Epic Water Filters, Culligan, Clearly Filtered, Waterdrop, PUR, Doulton, Brita, and Propur.
What Reddit Says About GE Appliances
Community signals for GE Appliances are being researched โ check back soon.
About GE Appliances Marketing Language
Some claims on GE Appliances packaging and product pages are frequently confused with what the underlying third-party certifications actually cover. The note below documents one such mismatch with primary-source citations so you can verify the specifics yourself.
GE's NSF/ANSI 53 health-effects certification is real. It is listed at IAPMO R&T, not in NSF's own directory โ and a lead-free refrigerator filter is not a lead-reduction filter.
Two different things get confused on this brand, and both of them matter.
One: the directory you search decides the answer you get. NSF's drinking water treatment unit directory returns no NSF/ANSI 53 section for GE Appliances. IAPMO R&T returns two Active NSF/ANSI 53 files, W-9756 and WC-11734, plus NSF/ANSI 401, NSF/ANSI 177, NSF P231 and NSF P473 files that NSF's results for this company do not show. IAPMO R&T and WQA certify against the same NSF/ANSI standards; UL Solutions and CSA Group certify to them too. A listing from any accredited body is a third-party certification, so "not on NSF's site" is not the same as "not certified".
Two: NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 is not NSF/ANSI 53. WQA lists a GE refrigerator filter in its Lead Free category under NSF/ANSI/CAN 372. That standard governs how much lead the product's own materials may contain โ it certifies the part will not add lead to your water. Reducing lead already in your water is NSF/ANSI 53, a different standard with a different test. On GE's records, the certified lead reduction claim is on the under-sink reverse-osmosis systems under NSF/ANSI 58.
- Before you buy on a lead claim, check which standard the badge names, and which product the listing covers.
- Before you conclude a brand is uncertified, check all the directories, not just the best-known one.
Sources
- NSF listingaccessed: 2026-08-25https://info.nsf.org/Certified/dwtu/listings.asp?CompanyName=GE+Appliances&submit1=Search+by+Manufacturer&Program=DWTU
- No NSF/ANSI 53, 401, 177, P231 or P473 section is returned for GE Appliances on NSF's company-scoped search
- IAPMO listingaccessed: 2026-08-24https://pld.iapmo.org/
- W-9756 and WC-11734 are Active NSF/ANSI 53 health-effects files under the GE Appliances listee, alongside NSF/ANSI 401, NSF/ANSI 177, NSF P231 and NSF P473 files
- WQA listingaccessed: 2026-08-24https://find.wqa.org/find-products#/keyword/GE%20Appliances
- The GE refrigerator-filter row sits in WQA's Lead Free category under NSF/ANSI/CAN 372, drinking water system components - lead content
Verified 2026-08-25.
Frequently Asked Questions About GE Appliances Water Filters
Partly โ and the rest are certified by IAPMO R&T, which amounts to the same thing. NSF's drinking water treatment unit directory lists GE Appliances under NSF/ANSI 42 (chlorine, taste and odor), NSF/ANSI 44 (softeners) and NSF/ANSI 58 (reverse osmosis), plus CSA B483.1.
It returns no NSF/ANSI 53 health-effects section for the company. IAPMO R&T does: files W-9756 and WC-11734, both Active, plus NSF/ANSI 401, NSF/ANSI 177, NSF P231 and NSF P473. WQA lists three more GE rows.
IAPMO R&T and WQA are accredited certification bodies that certify against the same NSF/ANSI standards, and UL Solutions and CSA Group certify to them as well, so a listing from any of them is a third-party certification.
You can search GE Appliances on NSF's directory yourself, then check your water quality by ZIP code to see which of those contaminants your supply actually has.
How We Researched GE Appliances
Our brand assessments follow a four-tier source ladder. We start with Tier 1 primary sources โ NSF International, IAPMO, and WQA certification listings, plus SEC filings and EPA records โ to establish what is third-party verified. We then layer in brand-official statements (corporate sites, datasheets, support pages) for context, tier-1 journalism for independent reporting, and community signals (Reddit threads, Amazon reviews) for real-world ownership experience. Every claim on this page traces back to one of the citations below.
Reviewed by TapWaterData Editorial.
All sources (5)
- NSF listingAccessed 2026-08-25https://info.nsf.org/Certified/dwtu/listings.asp?CompanyName=GE+Appliances&submit1=Search+by+Manufacturer&Program=DWTU
GE Appliances sections under NSF/ANSI 42 (chlorine, taste and odor), NSF/ANSI 44 (barium, efficiency rated, hardness, radium 226/228), NSF/ANSI 58 (the 15-claim reverse-osmosis set including lead, fluoride, arsenic and nitrate) and CSA B483.1 ยท No NSF/ANSI 53 section is returned for this manufacturer; the company search footer reports 6 matching manufacturers and 20 matching products
- NSF listingAccessed 2026-08-25https://info.nsf.org/Certified/dwtu/listings.asp?CompanyName=GE+Appliances&submit1=Search+by+Manufacturer&Program=DWTU
Address of record: Appliance Park AP2-120, Louisville, KY 40225 ยท Manufacturing facilities named on the listings: Iuka MS, Ripley MS, and Pingtung, Taiwan ยท Rated capacities: FQ18PN element 260 gallons at 0.5 gpm, module production 14.76 gpd, GXWH60T 15,000 gallons at 4 gpm, GXMH31H 570,000 gallons at 8 gpm, softener service flows 7.5 to 9.5 gpm
- IAPMO listingAccessed 2026-08-24https://pld.iapmo.org/
Listee 'GE APPLIANCES, A HAIER COMPANY' carries 18 files, all Active ยท NSF/ANSI 53 health-effects files W-9756 (2021) and WC-11734 (2022) โ the certification absent from NSF's own results
- IAPMO listingAccessed 2026-08-24https://pld.iapmo.org/
NSF/ANSI 401 files W-9758 and WC-11735; NSF P473 PFOA and PFOS files W-11362 and WC-11736; NSF/ANSI 177 shower file W-14289; NSF P231 microbiological file WC-13808 ยท NSF/ANSI/CAN 61 file K-13334, NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 file K-13335, NSF/ANSI 372 file W-9757, NSF/ANSI 42 files W-9755 and WC-9892, NSF/ANSI 44 file W-29819, NSF/ANSI 58 file WC-9859, CSA B483.1 files W-9975 and WC-15030
- WQA listingAccessed 2026-08-24https://find.wqa.org/find-products#/keyword/GE%20Appliances
Three rows under 'GE Appliances, a Haier Company. Water Filtration Systems': CSA B483.1; NSF/ANSI 42 point-of-use with aesthetic chlorine and nominal particulate Class V; and a refrigerator filter under NSF/ANSI/CAN 372, lead content ยท The NSF/ANSI/CAN 372 row carries no reduction claims โ it is a material standard, not a lead-reduction performance listing
Stay Informed About Your Water Quality
Get EPA reports, filter recommendations, and safety alerts for your area.
Weekly water-quality guidance for your area. Unsubscribe anytime.