HALO reviews, complaints and salt-free water conditioner cost
The HALO 5 is a salt-free water conditioner and filter, not an ion-exchange water softener: HALO's own pages describe it as whole-house carbon filtration plus HALO ION magnetic scale conditioner (not an ion-exchange softener). How salt-free systems compare with each other is on salt-free water softeners. This page summarises HALO's documented ratings, complaints and price quotes, each linked to its source with the date we read it. It is a summary of documented sources, not hands-on testing.
TapWaterData Editorial · Data read on 2026-10-04 · Report an error
HALO reviews and complaints
On 2026-10-04, HALO's BBB profile listed 1 complaint in the last three years, with the rating A+, BBB Accredited. Our sources record no Trustpilot score for HALO.
These are documented ratings and complaint counts, quoted with the date we read them; we have not tested a HALO system. BBB profile (BBB, read on 2026-10-04)
What a HALO salt-free water conditioner costs
HALO salt-free water conditioner prices, bought and installed: $4,500–$17,698, median $5,700 (n = 12, quoted 2024–2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 11, BBB 1).
Every quote behind these figures is listed below with its source. A HALO salt-free water conditioner is not an ion-exchange softener, so what an ion-exchange softener costs by other routes is a reference point, not the same unit’s price.
Documented HALO quotes
13 documented HALO quotes from 7 states, read on 2026-10-04, one row per source. 1 of them was priced before 2024-10-04 and is listed but not counted.
HALO salt-free water conditioner prices, bought and installed: $4,500–$17,698, median $5,700 (n = 12, quoted 2024–2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 11, BBB 1).
Each source is identified by its kind and its state, and the link goes to the page itself. A row priced only by the month is a financed purchase, and is not counted in any range above.
What HALO sells
The product lines below are as HALO’s own pages describe them, each linked with the date we read it.
| Series | Type | Regeneration | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| HALO 5 | whole-house carbon filtration plus HALO ION magnetic scale conditioner (not an ion-exchange softener) | the system regenerates (backwashes) every 7 days per HALO's FAQ; no salt | Product page (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04) |
| H2 ZERO ULTIMATE | single-tank carbon + HALO ION conditioner; zero electricity, zero backwash | not stated | Product page (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04) |
| HALO HYBRID | single-tank carbon filtration plus ion-exchange softening | not stated | Product page (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04) |
| Highly Filtered Softening Combo (HALO 5 + CK10 softener) | HALO 5 filtration/conditioning paired with a CK10 salt-based softener | not stated | Product page (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04) |
How HALO sells
- HALO sells through licensed contractors. Its HALO 5 warranty is void if the system was not sold and installed by a licensed contractor, was bought from a third party or liquidator, or was not activated online. (channel (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04))
- The FTC Cooling-Off Rule gives buyers three days to cancel covered sales made at home, including when they invite a salesperson in. The right lasts until midnight of the third business day, and the seller must refund within 10 days. Home sales under $25 are excluded. (cancellation (government, read on 2026-10-04))
What an ion-exchange softener costs by other routes
As of 2026-10-04, a 32,000-grain softener in the United States costs $876 as equipment you install yourself (priced on 2026-10-04), $1,029–$1,305 through an independent installer (modelled from manufacturer prices and federal wage data) and $3,224–$15,000 through a national dealer brand (n = 43 documented quotes across the dealer brands, read on 2026-10-04).
These are the national figures from the water softener cost answer, not a HALO price. To price the first two routes for your own ZIP code, household and site, use the cost estimator.
Renting a HALO salt-free water conditioner
None of the 18 documented rental offers collected on 2026-10-04 is for HALO.
How renting compares with buying, on every documented offer, is on renting vs buying a water softener.
HALO certification listings
As of 2026-10-05, our certification index holds 6 active listings we can attribute to HALO, from NSF International, IAPMO R&T and WQA Gold Seal: none of them under NSF/ANSI 44 (residential cation-exchange water softeners).
Listings by standard and certifier: NSF/ANSI 53 (IAPMO R&T 1); NSF/ANSI 58 (NSF International 1).
Materials listings, which certify what a component is made of rather than anything it reduces: NSF/ANSI 61 (WQA Gold Seal 4); NSF/ANSI 372 (WQA Gold Seal 4).
Our index reads only the IAPMO R&T, NSF International and WQA Gold Seal directories (read: NSF International on 2026-10-05, WQA Gold Seal on 2026-10-04, IAPMO R&T on 2026-08-23) and not CSA Group, ICC or UL Solutions, so a listing missing from it is not evidence that HALO holds none.
How long it lasts, and the HALO warranty
None of the sources collected on 2026-10-04 gives a service life for a salt-free water conditioner; what follows is for water softeners, for comparison only. 1 source we hold gives a service life for softeners in general, not for one brand: a water softener as a whole unit lasts 10 to 15 years, according to a government source read on 2026-10-04.
Service life (government, read on 2026-10-04)
HALO’s warranty, as its own documents state it: HALO 5 limited warranty, original owner at the original installation only and non-transferable: one replacement tank for a manufacturing defect; control-valve parts repaired or replaced within ten years of install; one replacement carbon media package within ten years (chlorine only). Void if not activated online, not sold and installed by a licensed contractor, or bought from a third party or liquidator; pressure over 80 psi also voids it. (Warranty terms (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04))
HALO questions
How much does a HALO salt-free water conditioner cost?
HALO salt-free water conditioner prices, bought and installed: $4,500–$17,698, median $5,700 (n = 12, quoted 2024–2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 11, BBB 1).
How much does it cost to rent a HALO salt-free water conditioner?
None of the 18 documented rental offers collected on 2026-10-04 is for HALO.
How many complaints does HALO have?
On 2026-10-04, HALO's BBB profile listed 1 complaint in the last three years, with the rating A+, BBB Accredited. Our sources record no Trustpilot score for HALO.
Is the HALO 5 a water softener?
HALO's own product pages describe its series as follows: HALO 5: whole-house carbon filtration plus HALO ION magnetic scale conditioner (not an ion-exchange softener). H2 ZERO ULTIMATE: single-tank carbon + HALO ION conditioner; zero electricity, zero backwash. HALO HYBRID: single-tank carbon filtration plus ion-exchange softening. Highly Filtered Softening Combo (HALO 5 + CK10 softener): HALO 5 filtration/conditioning paired with a CK10 salt-based softener.
How is the HALO 5 sold?
Our sources record HALO selling through dealers. HALO sells through licensed contractors. Its HALO 5 warranty is void if the system was not sold and installed by a licensed contractor, was bought from a third party or liquidator, or was not activated online. The FTC Cooling-Off Rule gives buyers three days to cancel covered sales made at home, including when they invite a salesperson in. The right lasts until midnight of the third business day, and the seller must refund within 10 days. Home sales under $25 are excluded.
What warranty does the HALO 5 come with?
HALO's warranty, as its own documents state it: HALO 5 limited warranty, original owner at the original installation only and non-transferable: one replacement tank for a manufacturing defect; control-valve parts repaired or replaced within ten years of install; one replacement carbon media package within ten years (chlorine only). Void if not activated online, not sold and installed by a licensed contractor, or bought from a third party or liquidator; pressure over 80 psi also voids it.
Sources
The 13 quote and rental sources are linked row by row in the tables above. Everything else this page states comes from these:
- HALO BBB profile (BBB, read on 2026-10-04)
- HALO 5 (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04)
- H2 ZERO ULTIMATE (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04)
- HALO HYBRID (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04)
- Highly Filtered Softening Combo (HALO 5 + CK10 softener) (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04)
- channel (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04)
- cancellation (government, read on 2026-10-04)
- HALO warranty terms (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04)
- softener service life (government, read on 2026-10-04)
Elsewhere on this site
Other brands we document
Related pages
Get the Weekly Water Brief
One email a week on water testing, treatment, and what water-quality data means for your home.
One email a week. Unsubscribe anytime.