Skip to main content

Water softener brands compared: cost, rental and warranty

This page sets the national water softener brands side by side: the documented prices, rental offers, warranties and certification listings each brandโ€™s own page states, in the same words. It is a summary of documented sources, not hands-on testing, and it does not rank the brands.

TapWaterData Editorial ยท Data read on 2026-10-04 ยท Report an error

Water softener brands side by side

6 national brands side by side, from 104 documented quotes in 21 states read on 2026-10-04 and 11 documented rental offers; every figure below is the summary the brand's own page states.

A range is stated only from enough documented quotes; below that, the cell says how many there are. Each brandโ€™s name links its own page, where every quote and rental offer is listed with its source and the date we read it.

Water softener brands by sales channel, documented price, rental, warranty, certification listings, product type and retailer pages
BrandProduct typeSales channelBought and installedRentalWarrantyCertification listingsRetailer pages
Culliganwater softenerOur sources record Culligan selling through dealers.

Culligan water softener prices, bought and installed: $3,224โ€“$11,896, median $5,750 (n = 10, quoted 2024โ€“2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 4, review site 2, BBB 4).

Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for Culligan water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8.

Every Culligan quote and its source

Reported rents: $70.00โ€“$100.00 a month, median $97.70 (n = 3, read on 2026-10-04).

Advertised starting prices: $14.95โ€“$55.00 a month, median $40.00 (n = 5, read on 2026-10-04).

Culligan's warranty, as its own documents state it: Aquasential Smart HE: Quadra-Hull tank and Cullex resin lifetime; circuit board, control valve body (excluding internal parts), salt container and brine valve 10 years; meter/probes/salt-level monitor 5 years; entire conditioner 1 year. Select and Advantage pages list resin lifetime, tank/valve body/brine parts 10 years, circuit board/meter 5 years, entire softener 1 year.As of 2026-10-05, our certification index holds 542 active listings we can attribute to Culligan, from NSF International, IAPMO R&T and WQA Gold Seal: 113 of them under NSF/ANSI 44 (residential cation-exchange water softeners), all from WQA Gold Seal.Our sources record no retailer page for Culligan.
Leaf Home Water Solutionswater softenerOur sources record Leaf Home Water Solutions selling through dealers.

Leaf Home Water Solutions water-system prices, bought and installed (every system type, softener or not): $3,881โ€“$15,000, median $7,000 (n = 17, quoted 2024โ€“2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 6, BBB 11).

Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 7) to state a range for Leaf Home Water Solutions prices whose source says the system includes a softener or conditioner, read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8.

Every Leaf Home Water Solutions quote and its source

None of the 18 documented rental offers collected on 2026-10-04 is for Leaf Home Water Solutions.

Leaf Home Water Solutions' warranty, as its own documents state it: The softener's specification table lists the warranty only as โ€œLimited Warranty, Non-Transferableโ€. Full warranty terms were not published on the product page read; warranties are registered at leafhomewatersolutions.com/register.As of 2026-10-05, our certification index holds 36 active listings we can attribute to Leaf Home Water Solutions, from NSF International and IAPMO R&T: 1 of them under NSF/ANSI 44 (residential cation-exchange water softeners), from IAPMO R&T.Our sources record no retailer page for Leaf Home Water Solutions.
Kineticowater softenerOur sources record Kinetico selling through dealers.

Kinetico water softener prices, bought and installed: $4,722โ€“$7,000, median $5,500 (n = 11, quoted 2024โ€“2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 5, review site 3, BBB 3).

Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for Kinetico water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8.

Every Kinetico quote and its source

Reported rents: $40.00 a month (n = 1, read on 2026-10-04).

Advertised starting prices: $57.00 a month (n = 1, read on 2026-10-04).

Kinetico's warranty, as its own documents state it: Limited warranty (residential, rev. 05/26/2021): Premier Series XP softeners ten years on all parts including ion-exchange resin and by-pass valves, ten years on resin tanks and regenerant tank; Signature Series five years on valve body, brine valve, all parts and resin, five years on tanks. Parts only: freight and labor are not included. Kinetico's warranties page says its warranties are transferable.As of 2026-10-05, our certification index holds 105 active listings we can attribute to Kinetico, from NSF International, IAPMO R&T and WQA Gold Seal: 19 of them under NSF/ANSI 44 (residential cation-exchange water softeners), all from WQA Gold Seal.Home Depot
EcoWaterwater softenerOur sources record EcoWater selling through dealers and the Costco program.

EcoWater water softener prices, bought and installed: $4,500โ€“$8,690, median $6,700 (n = 9, quoted 2024โ€“2025, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 8, BBB 1).

Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for EcoWater water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8.

Every EcoWater quote and its source

Reported rents: none documented within 24 months of 2026-10-04.

Advertised starting prices: $35.00 a month (n = 1, read on 2026-10-04).

EcoWater's warranty, as its own documents state it: ECR3700 spec sheet: salt tank and mineral tank for the lifetime of the original owner; valve body ten years; electronic faceplate seven years; all other parts five years. (The ESD2800 sheet lists different, shorter terms; see notes.) Costco says members get an extended warranty on EcoWater products bought through Costco.As of 2026-10-05, our certification index holds 88 active listings we can attribute to EcoWater, from NSF International, IAPMO R&T and WQA Gold Seal: 22 of them under NSF/ANSI 44 (residential cation-exchange water softeners), all from NSF International.Costco, Home Depot
RainSoftwater softenerOur sources record RainSoft selling through dealers.

Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 6) to state a range for RainSoft water softener prices, bought and installed, read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8.

RainSoft water-system prices (components not stated): $6,000โ€“$13,000, median $9,250 (n = 8, quoted 2024โ€“2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: review site 8).

Every RainSoft quote and its source

None of the 18 documented rental offers collected on 2026-10-04 is for RainSoft.

RainSoft's warranty, as its own documents state it: Limited lifetime warranty to the first retail purchaser: treatment tank, valve, salt container, electrical components and Ion-X resins against manufacturing defects. Contingent on returning a signed owner's registration card. Excludes labor and installation; replacement parts are furnished for a nominal charge covering labor, handling, packing and any retail-price increase.As of 2026-10-05, our certification index holds 33 active listings we can attribute to RainSoft, from NSF International and WQA Gold Seal: 28 of them under NSF/ANSI 44 (residential cation-exchange water softeners), all from NSF International.Home Depot
HALOsalt-free water conditionerOur sources record HALO selling through dealers.

HALO salt-free water conditioner prices, bought and installed: $4,500โ€“$17,698, median $5,700 (n = 12, quoted 2024โ€“2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 11, BBB 1).

Every HALO quote and its source

None of the 18 documented rental offers collected on 2026-10-04 is for HALO.

HALO's warranty, as its own documents state it: HALO 5 limited warranty, original owner at the original installation only and non-transferable: one replacement tank for a manufacturing defect; control-valve parts repaired or replaced within ten years of install; one replacement carbon media package within ten years (chlorine only). Void if not activated online, not sold and installed by a licensed contractor, or bought from a third party or liquidator; pressure over 80 psi also voids it.As of 2026-10-05, our certification index holds 6 active listings we can attribute to HALO, from NSF International, IAPMO R&T and WQA Gold Seal: none of them under NSF/ANSI 44 (residential cation-exchange water softeners).Our sources record no retailer page for HALO.

Buying a water softener through Costco

On 2026-10-04, Costco's EcoWater page offered a 10% Costco Shop Card on qualifying purchases. 9 documented EcoWater quotes from 2 states were made through the Costco program, read on 2026-10-04. 2 of them were priced before 2024-10-04 and are listed but not counted.

EcoWater water softener prices through the Costco program, bought and installed: $5,256โ€“$7,300, median $6,386 (n = 6, quoted 2024โ€“2025, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 6).

Not enough documented Costco-program quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for EcoWater water-system prices (components not stated) through the Costco program, read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 5.

How the program works, as Costco's page describes it: Costco members schedule a complimentary in-home consultation; an EcoWater consultant tests the water on site and recommends a system; an EcoWater dealer fulfils the order and installs it. Qualifying whole-home bundle purchases earn a Costco Shop Card, and Costco says members get an extended warranty on EcoWater product bought through Costco.

Every quote made through the program, with its source, is on EcoWater's Costco program cost.

Culligan vs Kinetico

Documented prices: Culligan water softener prices, bought and installed: $3,224โ€“$11,896, median $5,750 (n = 10, quoted 2024โ€“2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 4, review site 2, BBB 4). Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for Culligan water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8. Kinetico water softener prices, bought and installed: $4,722โ€“$7,000, median $5,500 (n = 11, quoted 2024โ€“2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 5, review site 3, BBB 3). Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for Kinetico water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8.

Sales channel: Our sources record Culligan selling through dealers. Our sources record Kinetico selling through dealers.

Warranty: Culligan's warranty, as its own documents state it: Aquasential Smart HE: Quadra-Hull tank and Cullex resin lifetime; circuit board, control valve body (excluding internal parts), salt container and brine valve 10 years; meter/probes/salt-level monitor 5 years; entire conditioner 1 year. Select and Advantage pages list resin lifetime, tank/valve body/brine parts 10 years, circuit board/meter 5 years, entire softener 1 year. Kinetico's warranty, as its own documents state it: Limited warranty (residential, rev. 05/26/2021): Premier Series XP softeners ten years on all parts including ion-exchange resin and by-pass valves, ten years on resin tanks and regenerant tank; Signature Series five years on valve body, brine valve, all parts and resin, five years on tanks. Parts only: freight and labor are not included. Kinetico's warranties page says its warranties are transferable.

Product line and regeneration: Culligan's own product pages describe its series as follows: Aquasential Smart High Efficiency Water Softener: salt-based ion-exchange softener (single tank, app-connected); regeneration: regenerates only the exhausted part of the resin bed; adjusts to hardness changes so it regenerates as needed. Aquasential Select Series / Select Plus Series Water Softeners: salt-based ion-exchange softener; regeneration: demand regeneration. Aquasential Advantage Whole Home Water Softener: salt-based ion-exchange softener (WQA-certified to NSF/ANSI 44 per page). Aquasential Smart High Efficiency Twin Water Softener: salt-based ion-exchange softener (twin tank). Kinetico's own product pages describe its series as follows: Kinetico Premier XP (e.g. S150 XP, S250 XP, Q850 OD XP, S650 OD XP): non-electric twin/multi-tank salt-based softener; regeneration: non-electric, meters water use and regenerates on demand; countercurrent regeneration. Kinetico Signature Series: non-electric twin-tank salt-based softener; regeneration: non-electric, meters water use and regenerates on demand; soft-water countercurrent regeneration.

We do not rank brands; these are the documented facts for Culligan and Kinetico, side by side. Each brandโ€™s quotes, offers and sources are on its own page: Culligan water softener cost and Kinetico water softener cost.

Where each figure comes from

Every figure on this page is the summary its brandโ€™s own page states, built from the same documented quotes, rental offers and brand documents. Each of those pages lists every source with the date we read it:

What a softener costs by each way of buying one, whoever sells it, is on the national water softener cost page.

Get the Weekly Water Brief

One email a week on water testing, treatment, and what water-quality data means for your home.

One email a week. Unsubscribe anytime.