Skip to main content

Renting a water softener vs buying one

Renting comes out ahead of buying only below $9–$11 a month over 10 years. Above that, the rent you would have paid exceeds what the same softener costs to buy and have fitted — $1,029–$1,305 in the United States, once. Rents people reported paying ran $40.00–$100.00 a month, median $59.98 (n = 6, read on 2026-10-04). Advertised starting prices ran $14.95–$57.00 a month, median $36.50 (n = 12, read on 2026-10-04).

TapWaterData Editorial · Data read on 2026-10-04 · Report an error

A 32,000-grain softener on a standard build costs $1,029–$1,305 installed in the United States — a modelled estimate from manufacturer prices as of 2026-10-04 and BLS wage data for May 2025 reference period (OEWS M2025), not yet calibrated on local quotes.

32,000-grain softener · Standard build

the United States

$1,029–$1,305

ModelledModelled estimate — not yet calibrated on local quotes

Equipment prices as of 2026-10-04. BLS wage data: May 2025 reference period (OEWS M2025).

Industry-standard serviceable valve — the independent-dealer default.

  • Wage basis: no state-level survey covers this area, so the labour figure uses the national wage.
  • Sized for a 4-person household at 13.39 grains per gallon — the median of the 7,403 cities our hardness dataset classifies hard or very hard.
  • This is the purchase price installed, with no site work in it and no optional extras. A rental agreement may cover things this figure does not — see what the comparison leaves out, below.

Over 10 years, owning that softener costs $2,050–$4,673 in total: the purchase and installation once, plus $1,021–$3,368 of salt, regeneration water and electricity, with electricity counted at its rated-draw upper bound. Salt, water and electricity are priced from dated national sources; the salt dose and the ends of the drain-volume range are quantities we declare, each stated below with the range it was declared with.

What renting a water softener costs

18 documented rental offers from 11 states, read on 2026-10-04. Rents people reported paying ran $40.00–$100.00 a month, median $59.98 (n = 6, read on 2026-10-04). Advertised starting prices ran $14.95–$57.00 a month, median $36.50 (n = 12, read on 2026-10-04).

Reported rents: $40.00/mo–$100.00/mo, median $59.98/mo (n = 6, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 1, review site 1, BBB 2, dealer page 2).

Rentals at an advertised starting price: $14.95/mo–$57.00/mo, median $36.50/mo (n = 12, read on 2026-10-04; sources: dealer page 12).

3 of the 18 documented offers state an installation fee amount, $150–$249. An advertised starting price is the lowest monthly rent an offer names, so it is labelled as one in the table and summarised apart from the rents people reported paying. Each source is identified by its kind and its state, and the link goes to the page itself. A national brand’s offer also links that brand’s own page, where its rental offers are summarised on their own.

Swipe to see more →
Documented water softener rental offers, one row per source
MonthlyInstall feeMinimum termIncludedSourceRead onBrand
$29.95/moadvertised starting price$15012 monthssoftener, installation (pre-plumb/replacement only), 120 lb salt at installdealer page, OH2026-10-04independent
$49.95/mo$15012 monthssoftener, installation (pre-plumb/replacement only), salt NOT includeddealer page, MN2026-10-04independent
$49.95/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftener, plus tax, install fee extra (amount not stated), month-to-monthdealer page, TX2026-10-04independent
$57.00/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftenerdealer page, TX2026-10-04Kinetico rentals
$45.00/moadvertised starting price$249not statedsoftenerdealer page, NV2026-10-04Culligan rentals
$32.00/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftener, install fee extra (amount not stated)dealer page, OK2026-10-04Culligan rentals
$55.00/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftener, installation, maintenance, salt servicedealer page, FL2026-10-04Culligan rentals
$40.00/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftener, limited-time promodealer page, NY2026-10-04Culligan rentals
$23.95/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftener, service call and parts if a problem occurs, month-to-month, range $23.95-$27.95dealer page, WI2026-10-04independent
$22.95/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftenerdealer page, WI2026-10-04independent
$35.00/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftenerdealer page, OH2026-10-04EcoWater rentals
$49.00/monot stated12 monthssoftener, installation on existing loop, annual service visits, maintenance and repairs, salt NOT included (add-on)dealer page, AZ2026-10-04independent
$38.00/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftener, salt delivery, maintenance, install fee extra (amount not stated), plus taxdealer page, SD2026-10-04independent
$40.00/monot statednot statedsoftenerforum, MN2026-10-04Kinetico rentals
$100.00/monot statednot statedsoftener, filtrationBBB, MN2026-10-04Culligan rentals
$97.70/monot statednot statedsoftener, salt delivery, serviceBBB, TX2026-10-04Culligan rentals
$70.00/monot statednot statedportable exchange tanks (monthly swap)review site, CA2026-10-04Culligan rentals
$14.95/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftener, installation, servicedealer page, CA2026-10-04Culligan rentals
n = 18 rental offers · read on 2026-10-04 · sources: forum 1, review site 1, BBB 2, dealer page 14

When renting stops being cheaper

In the United States, on cost data as of 2026-10-04, a rented softener and an owned one regenerate the same number of times — 521 over 10 years at one every 7 days — and consume the same salt and the same drain water. Those costs sit on both sides and cancel, so the comparison collapses to one line:

Months until buying wins = what the softener costs installed ÷ your monthly rental fee.

Read the other way round, that gives the fee at which the two are level for any length of time you might keep the unit. Every figure in this table is that division; not one of them is a rental price we have seen or a rate anyone quoted us.

Monthly rental fee at which renting equals buying, by how long you keep the softener
Kept forMonthsRenting matches buying at
1 year12$86–$109 a month
2 years24$43–$54 a month
3 years36$29–$36 a month
4 years48$21–$27 a month
5 years60$17–$22 a month
6 years72$14–$18 a month
7 years84$12–$16 a month
8 years96$11–$14 a month
9 years108$10–$12 a month
10 years120$9–$11 a month

Anything above the figure on a row means renting for that long costs more than buying outright. The three purchase routes give three different answers, because the thing you are comparing the rent against is a different purchase each time:

  • Self-install

    $876 once, so over 10 years renting only wins below $7 a month.

  • Independent installer

    $1,029–$1,305 once, so over 10 years renting only wins below $9–$11 a month.

  • Premium twin-tank (online price)

    $2,701–$2,977 once, so over 10 years renting only wins below $23–$25 a month.

What that break-even rests on

A break-even is a claim, so here is every input under it. Nothing in this list is hidden in a footnote.

  • The purchase side comes from the model: published manufacturer prices for the equipment and the published plumber wage for the area, multiplied by a stated trade convention for overhead and margin. It is a modelled estimate, not a measurement of what people paid, and the label beside the figure says so.
  • Salt, regeneration water and electricity are priced from dated sources, linked below: a retailer salt price, the national average water and sewer rate, a cited figure for the water each regeneration sends to drain, and the national residential electricity price applied to the control valve’s rated draw — an upper bound, not a measurement. Two quantities are declared rather than sourced: salt used per regeneration at 6–16 pounds per regeneration; water sent to drain per regeneration at 35–100 US gallons per regeneration. They are assumptions, not measurements, and the width of every running figure on this page carries that uncertainty through.
  • Those running costs cancel only if your agreement excludes them. If a rental includes salt delivery or servicing, the fee is buying something the purchase column is not carrying, and the break-even moves in the rental’s favour by whatever that is worth. We cannot price it: no salt-delivery or service price exists in this dataset.
  • The horizon is 10 years, nominal and undiscounted. No discount rate and no price-escalation rate is applied, because neither is sourced here and inventing either would quietly move the break-even. A dollar in year ten is counted as a dollar.
  • Regeneration frequency is the interval the unit was sized for — one every 7 days, from the same sizing formula that chose the capacity, never a separate figure for how often a softener regenerates in the field.
  • Excluded from both sides: site work beyond a straightforward tie-in, every optional ancillary, filter changes and any service contract. Excluded means omitted, not zero — each is listed below with what it would take to price it.
  • Excluded from the rental side: installation charges, minimum terms, deposits, early-termination fees, annual fee increases and buy-out clauses. Some documented offers state an installation fee or a minimum term, counted in the rental table above and under contract terms below; the rest are in no source we hold. Every one of those makes renting cost more than fee × months, so the break-even above is the version most favourable to renting.

Rent vs buy by state

For each of the 51 state pages, on cost data as of 2026-10-04, the table divides the state's installed price by the national median reported rent of $59.98 a month (n = 6, read on 2026-10-04) and by the national median advertised starting price of $36.50 a month (n = 12, read on 2026-10-04).

Months of rent that add up to the purchase = the state’s installed price ÷ the national median monthly rent.

The installed price on each row is the state page’s own answer: the size that state’s hardness calls for, the statewide plumber wage and the same model and dates as the national figure. Salt, regeneration water and electricity — $8.51–$28.07 a month, read on 2026-10-04 — are paid whether the softener is rented or bought, so they cancel; a rental that includes them moves the count in its own favour. No state has more than 3 documented rental offers, so every row uses the national medians rather than a rent of its own.

Modelled installed price of a water softener, and the months of the national median rent that add up to it, by state
StateSize and buildInstalled price (modelled)Months at the national median reported rentMonths at the national median advertised starting price
Alabama24,000 grains, standard build$940–$1,19416–20 months26–33 months
Alaska24,000 grains, standard build$1,025–$1,43117–24 months28–39 months
Arizona32,000 grains, standard build$1,025–$1,29417–22 months28–35 months
Arkansas24,000 grains, standard build$916–$1,12615–19 months25–31 months
California24,000 grains, standard build$974–$1,28916–21 months27–35 months
Colorado32,000 grains, standard build$1,028–$1,30217–22 months28–36 months
Connecticut24,000 grains, standard build$985–$1,31916–22 months27–36 months
Delaware32,000 grains, standard build$1,032–$1,31217–22 months28–36 months
District of Columbia24,000 grains, standard build$1,042–$1,47917–25 months29–41 months
Florida24,000 grains, standard build$926–$1,15515–19 months25–32 months
Georgia24,000 grains, standard build$937–$1,18416–20 months26–32 months
Hawaii24,000 grains, standard build$987–$1,32416–22 months27–36 months
Idaho24,000 grains, standard build$925–$1,15215–19 months25–32 months
Illinois40,000 grains, economy build$1,627–$2,12027–35 months45–58 months
Indiana40,000 grains, economy build$1,570–$1,96126–33 months43–54 months
Iowa40,000 grains, economy build$1,541–$1,87726–31 months42–51 months
Kansas32,000 grains, standard build$1,033–$1,31517–22 months28–36 months
Kentucky24,000 grains, standard build$953–$1,23116–21 months26–34 months
Louisiana24,000 grains, standard build$952–$1,22816–20 months26–34 months
Maine24,000 grains, standard build$953–$1,23016–21 months26–34 months
Maryland24,000 grains, standard build$956–$1,23916–21 months26–34 months
Massachusetts24,000 grains, standard build$1,025–$1,43117–24 months28–39 months
Michigan32,000 grains, standard build$1,069–$1,41618–24 months29–39 months
Minnesota40,000 grains, economy build$1,614–$2,08227–35 months44–57 months
Mississippi24,000 grains, standard build$932–$1,17216–20 months26–32 months
Missouri32,000 grains, standard build$1,037–$1,32617–22 months28–36 months
Montana40,000 grains, economy build$1,579–$1,98526–33 months43–54 months
Nebraska40,000 grains, economy build$1,534–$1,85726–31 months42–51 months
Nevada32,000 grains, standard build$1,024–$1,29117–22 months28–35 months
New Hampshire24,000 grains, standard build$960–$1,24916–21 months26–34 months
New Jersey32,000 grains, standard build$1,064–$1,40318–23 months29–38 months
New Mexico40,000 grains, economy build$1,535–$1,86126–31 months42–51 months
New York32,000 grains, standard build$1,062–$1,39818–23 months29–38 months
North Carolina40,000 grains, economy build$1,524–$1,83125–31 months42–50 months
North Dakota48,000 grains, standard build$1,163–$1,43819–24 months32–39 months
Ohio40,000 grains, economy build$1,539–$1,87326–31 months42–51 months
Oklahoma32,000 grains, standard build$1,015–$1,26617–21 months28–35 months
Oregon24,000 grains, standard build$1,032–$1,45217–24 months28–40 months
Pennsylvania24,000 grains, standard build$963–$1,25716–21 months26–34 months
Rhode Island32,000 grains, standard build$1,060–$1,39118–23 months29–38 months
South Carolina24,000 grains, standard build$929–$1,16215–19 months25–32 months
South Dakota64,000 grains, standard build$1,169–$1,39219–23 months32–38 months
Tennessee24,000 grains, standard build$940–$1,19316–20 months26–33 months
Texas24,000 grains, standard build$943–$1,20216–20 months26–33 months
Utah32,000 grains, standard build$1,025–$1,29317–22 months28–35 months
Vermont32,000 grains, standard build$1,025–$1,29417–22 months28–35 months
Virginia24,000 grains, standard build$944–$1,20616–20 months26–33 months
Washington24,000 grains, standard build$994–$1,34417–22 months27–37 months
West Virginia32,000 grains, standard build$1,013–$1,25917–21 months28–35 months
Wisconsin40,000 grains, economy build$1,582–$1,99426–33 months43–55 months
Wyoming32,000 grains, standard build$1,026–$1,29617–22 months28–36 months

For a single ZIP code rather than a state, the estimator prices the purchase side for your own household and site; divide that by the monthly fee you were quoted.

What a softener costs to run for 10 years

Salt, regeneration water and electricity come to $1,021–$3,368 over 10 years for a 32,000-grain softener regenerating every 7 days — 521 regenerations, 18,250–52,143 gallons to drain, at prices read on 2026-10-04. That range is not a confidence interval; it is the span the sourced prices and the declared quantities produce when each is taken at its low end together and then at its high end together, with electricity at its upper bound.

  • Salt

    $685–$2,144 over 10 years

  • Regeneration water

    $307–$878 over 10 years

  • Filter changes

    Not included in the total above, and not estimated either. It is optional and its price is specific to the agreement you are offered, so assuming one would price a purchase you may not be making. It would need:

    • Replacement cartridge price and change interval for each ancillary that has one (sediment pre-filter, carbon tank, RO).
  • Service contract

    Not included in the total above, and not estimated either. It is optional and its price is specific to the agreement you are offered, so assuming one would price a purchase you may not be making. It would need:

    • Annual dealer service-contract fee.
  • Electricity (upper bound)

    Up to $29–$346 over 10 years, at the control valve’s rated draw — an upper bound, not a measurement.

The total counts only the lines above that could be computed, and names the 2 it leaves out. It is not a complete cost of ownership and does not claim to be.

What the running cost rests on

As of 2026-10-04, the running cost of a 32,000-grain softener in the United States is $8.51–$28.07 a month, component by component, each beside its source and the date it was read:

  • Salt: $5.71–$17.87 a month

    6–16 lb of salt per regeneration (our declared assumption: the dose depends on the valve's salt setting) at $8.76–$10.28 a 40 lb bag across 3 retailers, median $10.18. Shelf prices are store-specific.

    Sources: salt price (retailer, read on 2026-10-04).

  • Regeneration water: $2.56–$7.31 a month

    About 50 gallons to drain per regeneration (the extension estimate; 35–100 gallons is our declared range around it), at the 2024 national average combined water and sewer rate of $16.83 per 1,000 gallons — a national average, not your utility's tariff.

    Sources: water per regeneration (government, read on 2026-10-04); water and sewer rate (government, read on 2026-10-04).

  • Electricity (upper bound): up to $0.24–$2.89 a month

    Up to 1.31–15.76 kWh a month at rated draw, priced at the national average residential rate of 18.31 cents per kWh. Upper bound: control valve assumed to draw its rated/stated power 24 h a day; the controller idles below its rating and only drives its motor during regeneration. Not a measured figure.

    Sources: control-valve electrical rating (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04); electricity price (government, read on 2026-10-04).

The 2 quantities we declare

No source we hold states these for a given unit. Each is declared as a range, the range is carried straight through into the published figure, and each stays on the list of figures this dataset still owes. An assumption closes no gap.

  • Salt used per regeneration: 6–16 pounds per regeneration

    Declared assumption — not a sourced figure. Provenance: declared convention, TapWaterData editorial policy.

    The dose scales with resin volume and with the salt setting the valve is programmed to: an economy setting on a small residential unit at the bottom, a high-capacity setting on a large one at the top. It is not a per-unit specification and does not pretend to be — the equipment index records neither resin volume nor salt setting, which is why the figure is still owed.

    Still owed: Pounds of salt consumed per regeneration, as a function of capacity class.

  • Water sent to drain per regeneration: 35–100 US gallons per regeneration

    Declared assumption — not a sourced figure. Provenance: declared convention, TapWaterData editorial policy.

    A regeneration backwashes, draws brine, rinses slowly and then rinses fast, and every one of those stages runs longer on a larger resin bed. The range spans the residential capacities this cluster prices.

    Still owed: Gallons of water sent to drain per regeneration, for each indexed unit.

And two that get no assumption at all

Both are optional, and both are specific to the agreement in front of you rather than to the softener, so the total above omits them instead of assuming a purchase you may not be making:

  • Replacement cartridge price and change interval for each ancillary that has one (sediment pre-filter, carbon tank, RO).
  • Annual dealer service-contract fee.

Rental contract terms

Of the 18 documented offers, 3 state a minimum term of 12 months, 2 say they run month to month, and 13 state no term. 3 of the 18 documented offers state an installation fee amount, $150–$249. Each offer’s term and fee are in the rental table above, beside the page that states them and the date it was read.

Cancelling a sale made at home: the FTC Cooling-Off Rule

What the Federal Trade Commission publishes about the rule, each statement beside its source and the date we read it:

  • The FTC's Cooling-Off Rule gives buyers three days to cancel certain sales made at their home, workplace or a seller's temporary location, and it applies when the buyer invited the salesperson in for a presentation. (FTC Cooling-Off Rule (government, read on 2026-10-04))
  • The right to cancel for a full refund lasts until midnight of the third business day after the sale. Saturday counts as a business day; Sundays and federal holidays do not. No reason has to be given. (FTC Cooling-Off Rule (government, read on 2026-10-04))
  • At the time of sale the seller must tell the buyer about the right to cancel and hand over two copies of a cancellation form and a dated contract or receipt showing the seller's name and address. (FTC Cooling-Off Rule (government, read on 2026-10-04))
  • After a cancellation the seller has 10 days to refund all money and return any signed check or trade-in, and 20 days to collect any goods left with the buyer or reimburse the cost of mailing them back. (FTC Cooling-Off Rule (government, read on 2026-10-04))
  • The rule does not cover in-home sales under $25, sales finished at the seller's permanent place of business, or sales made entirely online, by mail or by telephone. (FTC Cooling-Off Rule (government, read on 2026-10-04))

Water softener rental questions

How much does it cost to rent a water softener?

Rents people reported paying ran $40.00–$100.00 a month, median $59.98 (n = 6, read on 2026-10-04). Advertised starting prices ran $14.95–$57.00 a month, median $36.50 (n = 12, read on 2026-10-04). 3 of the 18 documented offers state an installation fee amount, $150–$249. Of the 18 documented offers, 3 state a minimum term of 12 months, 2 say they run month to month, and 13 state no term.

Is it cheaper to rent or buy a water softener?

Bought and installed in the United States, a 32,000-grain softener is modelled at $1,029–$1,305, paid once. At the median reported rent of $59.98 a month, the rent paid reaches that price after 17–22 months. At the median advertised starting price of $36.50 a month, the rent paid reaches that price after 28–36 months. Salt, regeneration water and electricity come to $8.51–$28.07 a month on either side, unless a rental agreement includes them.

What this comparison is, and what it is not

It is not a review of any rental offer. It is the documented rents beside the arithmetic that turns a monthly fee into a date, with the purchase side priced from published manufacturer prices and published wages, and the running side priced from dated national prices and two quantities we declare. If you have a rental agreement in front of you, the number to take from it is the monthly fee, the term, and whether salt and servicing are included. The buying side in full — self-install, an independent installer and the dealer channel — is on the national water softener cost page.

Renting is not irrational at every fee. It moves the repair risk onto somebody else, it needs no money up front, and if you expect to move within a year or two the table above shows how forgiving the arithmetic is over a short holding period. What it cannot survive is a long one: the purchase is paid once and the fee is paid every month.

The purchase figure carries no site work. A house with no softener loop, no nearby drain, or a run of new line to bring in will cost more to fit than the figure here, and the estimator prices those site classes for your own ZIP code. Sizing also inherits the hardness dataset’s own uncertainty — some city values are utility-reported and some are county-level estimates — and the hardness methodology explains which is which.

Get the Weekly Water Brief

One email a week on water testing, treatment, and what water-quality data means for your home.

One email a week. Unsubscribe anytime.