Skip to main content

EcoWater water softener cost

This page sets out what EcoWater water softeners are documented to cost — public quotes, rental offers, the product line and its warranty — each linked to its source with the date we read it.

TapWaterData Editorial · Data read on 2026-10-05 · Report an error

What a EcoWater water softener costs

EcoWater water softener prices, bought and installed: $4,500–$8,690, median $6,700 (n = 9, quoted 2024–2025, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 8, BBB 1). Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for EcoWater water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8.

Every quote behind these figures is listed below with its source, and the same unit’s price by other routes is in what a comparable softener costs.

Documented EcoWater quotes

14 documented EcoWater quotes from 4 states, read on 2026-10-04, one row per source. 3 of them were priced before 2024-10-04 and are listed but not counted.

EcoWater water softener prices, bought and installed: $4,500–$8,690, median $6,700 (n = 9, quoted 2024–2025, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 8, BBB 1).

Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for EcoWater water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8.

Each source is identified by its kind and its state, and the link goes to the page itself. A row priced only by the month is a financed purchase, and is not counted in any range above.

Swipe to see more →
Documented EcoWater quotes, one row per source
PriceScopeWhat was quotedYear quotedSourceRead on
$6,000bought and installedwater treatment system (lowest of 3 options)2023forum, TX2026-10-04
$8,190bought and installedERR3702: softener/refiner2022forum, TX2026-10-04
$6,000bought and installedsoftener2023forum, TX2026-10-04
$6,771bought and installedERR3702R30 + ERO385: softener, RO2024forum, TX2026-10-04
$7,090bought and installedESD2750: softener, RO2025forum, FL2026-10-04
$6,700bought and installedsoftener2025forum, KS2026-10-04
$17,000financedERR3700: softener/refiner2026BBB, KS2026-10-04
$8,690bought and installedsoftener2024BBB, CA2026-10-04
$6,000bought and installedsoftener, RO, pre-filter2025forum, state not stated2026-10-04
$3,000bought and installed2-unit option (all-in-one options $3,800-$4,400): 2 units (types not stated)2025forum, state not stated2026-10-04
$6,000bought and installedsoftener, RO2024forum, state not stated2026-10-04
$5,256bought and installedERR3700 + ERO385 + EACW: softener, RO2024forum, state not stated2026-10-04
$7,300bought and installedERR3700 + ERO 385: softener, RO2025forum, state not stated2026-10-04
$4,500bought and installedERR3702R30: softener/refiner2025forum, state not stated2026-10-04
n = 14 documented quotes · quoted 2022–2026 · read on 2026-10-04 · sources: forum 12, BBB 2

Buying EcoWater through Costco

On 2026-10-04, Costco's EcoWater page offered a 10% Costco Shop Card on qualifying purchases. 9 documented EcoWater quotes from 2 states were made through the Costco program, read on 2026-10-04. 2 of them were priced before 2024-10-04 and are listed but not counted.

How the program works, as Costco's page describes it: Costco members schedule a complimentary in-home consultation; an EcoWater consultant tests the water on site and recommends a system; an EcoWater dealer fulfils the order and installs it. Qualifying whole-home bundle purchases earn a Costco Shop Card, and Costco says members get an extended warranty on EcoWater product bought through Costco. (Costco EcoWater program page (retailer, read on 2026-10-04))

EcoWater water softener prices through the Costco program, bought and installed: $5,256–$7,300, median $6,386 (n = 6, quoted 2024–2025, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 6).

Not enough documented Costco-program quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for EcoWater water-system prices (components not stated) through the Costco program, read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 5.

Swipe to see more →
Documented EcoWater quotes made through the Costco program, one row per source
PriceScopeWhat was quotedYear quotedSourceRead on
$6,000bought and installedwater treatment system (lowest of 3 options)2023forum, TX2026-10-04
$8,190bought and installedERR3702: softener/refiner2022forum, TX2026-10-04
$6,771bought and installedERR3702R30 + ERO385: softener, RO2024forum, TX2026-10-04
$7,090bought and installedESD2750: softener, RO2025forum, FL2026-10-04
$6,000bought and installedsoftener, RO, pre-filter2025forum, state not stated2026-10-04
$3,000bought and installed2-unit option (all-in-one options $3,800-$4,400): 2 units (types not stated)2025forum, state not stated2026-10-04
$6,000bought and installedsoftener, RO2024forum, state not stated2026-10-04
$5,256bought and installedERR3700 + ERO385 + EACW: softener, RO2024forum, state not stated2026-10-04
$7,300bought and installedERR3700 + ERO 385: softener, RO2025forum, state not stated2026-10-04
n = 9 documented quotes · quoted 2022–2025 · read on 2026-10-04 · sources: forum 9

What EcoWater sells

The product lines below are as EcoWater’s own pages describe them, each linked with the date we read it.

EcoWater product lines, as the source describes each
SeriesTypeRegenerationSource
EcoWater 2800 Series (ESD2800)salt-based ion-exchange softenerlearns household water use and regenerates only when needed (manufacturer calls it patented AI technology)Product page (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04)
EcoWater 3700 Series Water Conditioner (ECR3700)salt-based ion-exchange softenerdemand-initiated via Digital Demand Module; counter-current regenerationProduct page (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04)
Compact Seriessoftener (spec sheet listed on softeners page; regeneration not read)not statedProduct page (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04)

Retailers with a EcoWater page

Retailer pages listing EcoWater, each as read on the retailer’s own site
RetailerSource
CostcoCostco EcoWater page (retailer, read on 2026-10-04)
Home DepotHome Depot EcoWater page (retailer, read on 2026-10-04)

How EcoWater sells

  • EcoWater says every purchase, whether paid in cash, by credit card or in monthly payments, starts with an in-home consultation with an EcoWater Pro (a local dealer). (in-home appointment (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04))
  • EcoWater offers consumer financing through United Consumer Financial Services (UCFS). Terms may include fixed terms of 18 to 84 months, no up-front or early-payoff fees, and same-as-cash promotions. (financing (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04))
  • Through Costco, members book a complimentary in-home consultation. An EcoWater consultant tests the water and recommends a system, and an EcoWater dealer fulfils the order and installs it. Qualifying whole-home bundles earn a 10% Costco Shop Card. (in-home appointment (retailer, read on 2026-10-04))
  • Home Depot sells installed water treatment from RainSoft, EcoWater, Puronics and Kinetico, starting with a free in-home water test it offers to arrange. (in-home appointment (retailer, read on 2026-10-04))
  • The FTC Cooling-Off Rule gives buyers three days to cancel covered sales made at home, including when they invite a salesperson in. The right lasts until midnight of the third business day, and the seller must refund within 10 days. Home sales under $25 are excluded. (cancellation (government, read on 2026-10-04))

What a comparable softener costs by other routes

As of 2026-10-04, a 32,000-grain softener in the United States costs $876 as equipment you install yourself (priced on 2026-10-04), $1,029–$1,305 through an independent installer (modelled from manufacturer prices and federal wage data) and $3,224–$15,000 through a national dealer brand (n = 43 documented quotes across the dealer brands, read on 2026-10-04).

These are the national figures from the water softener cost answer, not a EcoWater price. To price the first two routes for your own ZIP code, household and site, use the cost estimator.

Renting a EcoWater water softener

1 documented EcoWater rental offer from 1 state, read on 2026-10-04.

Reported rents: no documented price dated within 24 months of 2026-10-04.

Rentals at an advertised starting price: $35.00/mo–$35.00/mo, median $35.00/mo (n = 1, read on 2026-10-04; sources: dealer page 1).

Swipe to see more →
Documented EcoWater rental offers, one row per source
MonthlyInstall feeMinimum termIncludedSourceRead on
$35.00/moadvertised starting pricenot statednot statedsoftenerdealer page, OH2026-10-04
n = 1 rental offers · read on 2026-10-04 · sources: dealer page 1

EcoWater certification listings

As of 2026-10-05, our certification index holds 88 active listings we can attribute to EcoWater, from NSF International, IAPMO R&T and WQA Gold Seal: 22 of them under NSF/ANSI 44 (residential cation-exchange water softeners), all from NSF International.

Listings by standard and certifier: NSF/ANSI 44 (NSF International 22); NSF/ANSI 42 (NSF International 19 and IAPMO R&T 1); NSF/ANSI 53 (NSF International 3 and IAPMO R&T 2); NSF/ANSI 58 (NSF International 10 and IAPMO R&T 1); NSF/ANSI 401 (NSF International 2 and IAPMO R&T 1); NSF P231 (IAPMO R&T 1).

Materials listings, which certify what a component is made of rather than anything it reduces: NSF/ANSI 61 (NSF International 33 and WQA Gold Seal 8); NSF/ANSI 372 (IAPMO R&T 1 and WQA Gold Seal 12).

The NSF/ANSI 44 listings name these reductions: Hardness, Barium, Radium 226/228.

Our index reads only the IAPMO R&T, NSF International and WQA Gold Seal directories (read: NSF International on 2026-10-05, WQA Gold Seal on 2026-10-04, IAPMO R&T on 2026-08-23) and not CSA Group, ICC or UL Solutions, so a listing missing from it is not evidence that EcoWater holds none.

How long it lasts, and the EcoWater warranty

1 source we hold gives a service life for softeners in general, not for one brand: a water softener as a whole unit lasts 10 to 15 years, according to a government source read on 2026-10-04.

Service life (government, read on 2026-10-04)

EcoWater’s warranty, as its own documents state it: ECR3700 spec sheet: salt tank and mineral tank for the lifetime of the original owner; valve body ten years; electronic faceplate seven years; all other parts five years. (The ESD2800 sheet lists different, shorter terms; see notes.) Costco says members get an extended warranty on EcoWater products bought through Costco. (Warranty terms (manufacturer, read on 2026-10-04))

EcoWater questions

How much does an EcoWater water softener cost?

EcoWater water softener prices, bought and installed: $4,500–$8,690, median $6,700 (n = 9, quoted 2024–2025, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 8, BBB 1). Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for EcoWater water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8.

How much does it cost to rent an EcoWater water softener?

1 documented EcoWater rental offer from 1 state, read on 2026-10-04. Reported rents: none documented within 24 months of 2026-10-04. Advertised starting prices: $35.00 a month (n = 1, read on 2026-10-04).

How much does an EcoWater system cost through Costco?

On 2026-10-04, Costco's EcoWater page offered a 10% Costco Shop Card on qualifying purchases. EcoWater water softener prices through the Costco program, bought and installed: $5,256–$7,300, median $6,386 (n = 6, quoted 2024–2025, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 6). Not enough documented Costco-program quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for EcoWater water-system prices (components not stated) through the Costco program, read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 5. How the program works, as Costco's page describes it: Costco members schedule a complimentary in-home consultation; an EcoWater consultant tests the water on site and recommends a system; an EcoWater dealer fulfils the order and installs it. Qualifying whole-home bundle purchases earn a Costco Shop Card, and Costco says members get an extended warranty on EcoWater product bought through Costco.

Is EcoWater worth the price?

EcoWater water softener prices, bought and installed: $4,500–$8,690, median $6,700 (n = 9, quoted 2024–2025, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 8, BBB 1). Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for EcoWater water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8. Our sources record EcoWater selling through dealers and the Costco program. EcoWater's warranty, as its own documents state it: ECR3700 spec sheet: salt tank and mineral tank for the lifetime of the original owner; valve body ten years; electronic faceplate seven years; all other parts five years. (The ESD2800 sheet lists different, shorter terms; see notes.) Costco says members get an extended warranty on EcoWater products bought through Costco.

What is the average cost of having a water softener installed?

As of 2026-10-04, a 32,000-grain softener in the United States costs $876 as equipment you install yourself (priced on 2026-10-04), $1,029–$1,305 through an independent installer (modelled from manufacturer prices and federal wage data) and $3,224–$15,000 through a national dealer brand (n = 43 documented quotes across the dealer brands, read on 2026-10-04).

Which is better, EcoWater or Culligan?

We do not rank brands; these are the documented facts for EcoWater and Culligan, side by side. Documented prices: EcoWater water softener prices, bought and installed: $4,500–$8,690, median $6,700 (n = 9, quoted 2024–2025, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 8, BBB 1). Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for EcoWater water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8. Culligan water softener prices, bought and installed: $3,224–$11,896, median $5,750 (n = 10, quoted 2024–2026, read on 2026-10-04; sources: forum 4, review site 2, BBB 4). Not enough documented quotes yet (n = 1) to state a range for Culligan water-system prices (components not stated), read on 2026-10-04; a range is stated from 8. Sales channel: Our sources record EcoWater selling through dealers and the Costco program. Our sources record Culligan selling through dealers. Warranty: EcoWater's warranty, as its own documents state it: ECR3700 spec sheet: salt tank and mineral tank for the lifetime of the original owner; valve body ten years; electronic faceplate seven years; all other parts five years. (The ESD2800 sheet lists different, shorter terms; see notes.) Costco says members get an extended warranty on EcoWater products bought through Costco. Culligan's warranty, as its own documents state it: Aquasential Smart HE: Quadra-Hull tank and Cullex resin lifetime; circuit board, control valve body (excluding internal parts), salt container and brine valve 10 years; meter/probes/salt-level monitor 5 years; entire conditioner 1 year. Select and Advantage pages list resin lifetime, tank/valve body/brine parts 10 years, circuit board/meter 5 years, entire softener 1 year. Product line and regeneration: EcoWater's own product pages describe its series as follows: EcoWater 2800 Series (ESD2800): salt-based ion-exchange softener; regeneration: learns household water use and regenerates only when needed (manufacturer calls it patented AI technology). EcoWater 3700 Series Water Conditioner (ECR3700): salt-based ion-exchange softener; regeneration: demand-initiated via Digital Demand Module; counter-current regeneration. Compact Series: softener (spec sheet listed on softeners page; regeneration not read). Culligan's own product pages describe its series as follows: Aquasential Smart High Efficiency Water Softener: salt-based ion-exchange softener (single tank, app-connected); regeneration: regenerates only the exhausted part of the resin bed; adjusts to hardness changes so it regenerates as needed. Aquasential Select Series / Select Plus Series Water Softeners: salt-based ion-exchange softener; regeneration: demand regeneration. Aquasential Advantage Whole Home Water Softener: salt-based ion-exchange softener (WQA-certified to NSF/ANSI 44 per page). Aquasential Smart High Efficiency Twin Water Softener: salt-based ion-exchange softener (twin tank).

Sources

The 15 quote and rental sources are linked row by row in the tables above. Everything else this page states comes from these:

Elsewhere on this site

Other brands we document

Get the Weekly Water Brief

One email a week on water testing, treatment, and what water-quality data means for your home.

One email a week. Unsubscribe anytime.