AquaTru Classic
- Reverse Osmosis
- Point of use
- City water
- Well water
- Complete system
- Listed
$475.00as of 2026-08-30
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Brand officialRetailer listing
Affiliate disclosure: We earn a commission on purchases made through these links, at no extra cost to you. It pays for the directory lookups and price checks on this page. Learn more.
Our verdict on the AquaTru Classic
AquaTru Classic is a plug-in, manually filled countertop reverse-osmosis purifier for microbiologically safe water that requires no plumbing; current IAPMO R&T listings name Classic models AT2000 through AT2050 under NSF/ANSI 42, NSF/ANSI 53, NSF/ANSI 58, NSF/ANSI/CAN 372-2022, and NSF/ANSI 401 as of 2026-08-30.[1][2][3][4][5][6][7]
Best for
- Households wanting point-of-use countertop reverse osmosis without a plumbing connection
- Users whose water is microbiologically safe, remains within AquaTru's published inlet limits, and who have a nearby electrical outlet
Not for
- Water that is neither municipally treated nor otherwise known to be microbiologically safe
- Water above 10 gpg hardness unless softened first, or water with sulphide, iron, or manganese at or above 0.1 mg/L
- Countertop locations without access to electrical power
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheetBrand officialIAPMO listing
Certification check: AquaTru Classic
Listed by IAPMO R&T under NSF/ANSI 401, NSF/ANSI 42, NSF/ANSI 53, and NSF/ANSI 58, checked in the certifier directories as of 2026-08-30.
- IAPMO R&T
- NSF/ANSI 401NSF/ANSI 42NSF/ANSI 53NSF/ANSI 58
IAPMO R&T and WQA certify products against the same NSF/ANSI standards as NSF, so a listing from either one is an equivalent third-party certification, not a lesser one.
| Directory | Result | Listing |
|---|---|---|
| NSF | No listing found (checked 2026-08-30) | View listing |
| IAPMO R&T | Listing found (checked 2026-08-30) | View listing |
| WQA | No listing found (checked 2026-08-30) | No URL recorded |
Claimed vs. certified: AquaTru Classic
| Contaminant | Status | Third-party listing | What the brand says |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chlorine | Marketed only | No entry |
|
| PFOA/PFOS | Marketed only | No entry |
|
| Fluoride | Certified and marketed |
|
|
| Lead | Certified and marketed |
|
|
| Microplastics | Certified and marketed |
|
|
| Aesthetic Chlorine | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Arsenic (Pentavalent) | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Atenolol | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Barium | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Bisphenol A | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Carbamazepine | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Chloramine | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Chromium | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Copper | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Cyst | Certified only |
| No entry |
| DEET | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Estrone | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Ibuprofen | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Linuron | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Meprobamate | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Metolachlor | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Naproxen | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Nitrate/Nitrite | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Nonylphenol | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Particulate Class I | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Perchlorate | Certified only |
| No entry |
| PFOA | Certified only |
| No entry |
| PFOS | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Phenytoin | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Radium 226/228 | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Selenium | Certified only |
| No entry |
| TCEP | Certified only |
| No entry |
| TCPP | Certified only |
| No entry |
| TDS | Certified only |
| No entry |
| Trimethoprim | Certified only |
| No entry |
| VOC | Certified only |
| No entry |
What the AquaTru Classic does not do
Do not use with water that is microbiologically unsafe or of unknown quality without adequate disinfection before or after the system. The AquaTru Classic's recorded operating limits are Total dissolved solids up to 1,500 mg/L, Hardness up to 10 gpg, Sulphide up to 0.1 mg/L, Iron up to 0.1 mg/L, Manganese up to 0.1 mg/L, Chlorine up to 2 ppm, pH at least 3 pH and up to 11 pH, Turbidity up to 5 NTU, verified 2026-08-30.
Do not use with water that is microbiologically unsafe or of unknown quality without adequate disinfection before or after the system.[1]
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet
This system reduces pentavalent arsenic, but may not remove other forms of arsenic.[1]
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet
Operating limits
| Parameter | Limit | What it means |
|---|---|---|
| Total dissolved solids | up to 1,500 mg/L[1] | Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet |
| Hardness | up to 10 gpg[1] | AquaTru does not recommend use above 10 gpg unless the water is softened first. Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet |
| Sulphide | up to 0.1 mg/L[1] | The published limit is less than 0.1 mg/L, so the boundary itself is excluded. Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet |
| Iron | up to 0.1 mg/L[1] | The published limit is less than 0.1 mg/L, so the boundary itself is excluded. Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet |
| Manganese | up to 0.1 mg/L[1] | The published limit is less than 0.1 mg/L, so the boundary itself is excluded. Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet |
| Chlorine | up to 2 ppm[1] | The published limit is less than 2 ppm, so the boundary itself is excluded. Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet |
| pH | at least 3 pH and up to 11 pH[1] | Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet |
| Turbidity | up to 5 NTU[1] | Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet |
Do not buy it for these situations
Well waterFor well water, confirm the supply is known to be microbiologically safe and within AquaTru's published inlet-water limits; microbiologically unsafe or unknown-quality water requires adequate disinfection, while water above 10 gpg hardness should be softened before use.[1]
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet
ElectricityThe Classic operates from an AC wall plug and should remain plugged in for accurate filter-life tracking.[1]
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet
How the AquaTru Classic works
The AquaTru Classic treats water in four stages: Sediment filtration, then Activated carbon, then Reverse osmosis, then Activated carbon, verified 2026-08-30.[1]
| Stage | Method | Media | Micron rating |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Sediment filtration | Dual Stage Pre-Filter | Not recorded |
| 2 | Activated carbon | Activated carbon | Not recorded |
| 3 | Reverse osmosis | Reverse Osmosis (RO) Filter | Not recorded |
| 4 | Activated carbon | VOC Carbon Filter | Not recorded |
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet
Fit and sizing: AquaTru Classic
The AquaTru Classic is a reverse osmosis unit installed at the point of use, for city water and well water. It is rated for 0.06 gpm of service flow and 54 GPD of membrane output, verified 2026-08-30.
| Form factor | Reverse Osmosis |
|---|---|
| Installed at | Point of use (one fixture) |
| Water source | City water and Well water |
| Service flow | 0.06 gpm[1] Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet |
| Membrane output | 54 GPD[1] Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30IAPMO listing |
| Storage tank | 0.75 gallons[1] Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Brand official |
| Operating temperature | 40–100 °F[1] Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet |
| Needs electricity | Yes[1] Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Brand official |
| Needs a drain | No[1][2] Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Brand officialManufacturer datasheet |
What the AquaTru Classic really costs
The AquaTru Classic costs $475.00 as of 2026-08-30. Over ten years, including installation and replacement elements, the recorded total is $1,773.25.
Replacement schedule
| Element | Replace | Cost per year |
|---|---|---|
| AT2001 Pre/Carbon Filter | every 6 months, or every 600 gallons | $59.90 |
| AT2002 Reverse Osmosis Filter | every 24 months, or every 1,200 gallons | $29.98 |
| AT2003 VOC Carbon Filter | every 12 months, or every 600 gallons | $39.95 |
EstimatedVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheetBrand official
Ten-year cost of ownership
| Purchase price (as of 2026-08-30) | $475.00 |
|---|---|
| Replacement elements, 10 × $129.83/year | $1,298.25 |
| Sum of the lines above (as of 2026-08-30) | $1,773.25 |
| Recorded ten-year total | $1,773.25 |
Waste ratio: 1:3 (water sent to drain per unit of filtered water)[1]
EstimatedVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet
Warranty: One-year limited manufacturer's warranty for the original purchaser; filters and failures from misuse or failure to maintain are excluded. (1 years)[1]
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet
Money-back guarantee: 30-Day Money Back Guarantee (30 days)[1]
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Brand official
Installing the AquaTru Classic
Installing the AquaTru Classic is an easy job. DIY install, verified 2026-08-30.
Manufacturer documentation
- Install manual: https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0758/4550/1142/files/AQT_CLASSIC_Manual.pdf (accessed 2026-08-30)
- Install video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyjtY94IeFA (accessed 2026-08-30)
Ongoing maintenance
- Clean both removable water tanks inside and out with soap and water every week.
- Discard the concentrated water remaining in the tap-water tank before every refill.
- Test treated water for nitrate/nitrite at least every six months and when the prefilter is replaced if relying on nitrate/nitrite reduction. — every 6 months
- Remove scale with the manual's descaling procedure when deposits appear or the maintenance alert indicates restricted flow.
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Manufacturer datasheet
Track record: AquaTru Classic
AquaTru shows 4.6 out of 5 from 2,824 reviews as of 2026-08-30; Amazon shows 4.1 out of 5 from 1,078 reviews as of 2026-08-30.
What owners praise
AquaTru's on-page, AI-generated review summary says customers praise the water's taste, the filter life, and ease of use.[1]
Secondary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Brand official
What owners complain about
AquaTru's on-page, AI-generated review summary says opinions vary on customer service and the unit's size.[1]
Secondary sourceVerified 2026-08-30Brand official
The AquaTru Classic against its family and its rivals
The AquaTru Classic has 3 siblings in its family: Classic Smart, Carafe, Carafe Smart.
IAPMO R&T's current W-10188, W-10193, W-10194, W-14617, and W-10195 listings each name AquaTru models AT2000 through AT2050; this scope applies only to the model numbers and replacement components named in those listings.[1][2][3][4][5]
Primary sourceVerified 2026-08-30IAPMO listing
The rest of the family
| Model | What differs |
|---|---|
| Classic Smart | A separately selectable Smart variant; the captured Classic product page does not state the Smart-only feature difference. |
| Carafe | Uses a different Carafe filter set; AquaTru says Carafe filters are not compatible with the larger Classic. |
| Carafe Smart | A Smart variant in the separate Carafe family, whose filters are not compatible with Classic. |
AquaTru Classic questions, answered
Is AquaTru worth the money?
It can be worth considering when no-plumbing countertop RO fits the buyer's needs, but the cost is $475 as of 2026-08-30 and a reproducible ten-year total is $1,773.25 before tax, shipping, or optional filters. That total uses AquaTru's current filter prices and the OEM replacement intervals rather than assuming the filters last indefinitely.
How long do AquaTru Classic filters last?
The AT2001 Pre/Carbon filter is rated for 6 months or 600 gallons, the AT2002 RO filter for 24 months or 1,200 gallons, and the AT2003 VOC filter for 12 months or 600 gallons. Replacement is due when either the time or gallon interval is reached.
Sources: [1]
Is AquaTru better than Brita?
No universal answer is supportable without naming the Brita model and the treatment goal. The three IAPMO R&T files cited here list AquaTru Classic models AT2000 through AT2050 under NSF/ANSI 42, NSF/ANSI 58, and NSF/ANSI 401; compare their exact claims with the listing for the specific Brita product under consideration.
How much does an AquaTru system cost?
What's the difference between AquaTru Carafe and classic?
The clearest OEM-verified difference is that AquaTru Classic uses a dedicated Classic filter set that is not compatible with Carafe filters. The captured Classic page also describes the Classic as the larger countertop model and gives its clean-water tank as 0.75 gallon.
Sources: [1]
What is the difference between AquaTru Classic and Classic Smart?
The captured AquaTru Classic page lists Classic and Classic Smart as selectable variants but does not state the Smart-only feature difference in its captured text. A model-specific feature comparison therefore remains unestablished in this record.
Sources: [1]
Does AquaTru Classic require electricity?
Can AquaTru Classic treat well water?
Verified health claim
Only if the well water is known to be microbiologically safe and also meets AquaTru's published inlet-water limits. The performance data sheet requires adequate disinfection for microbiologically unsafe or unknown-quality water, and the unit is not a substitute for establishing that a private supply is safe.
Sources: [1]
Does AquaTru Classic remove every form of arsenic?
Sources and data report: AquaTru Classic
Every figure above is taken from the highest-trust source that carries it and re-derived from that source by a separate check. How we verify product data.
What we could not establish, and why
| Field | Why it is blank |
|---|---|
| identity.family | AquaTru groups several countertop products and variants on its site, but the product page and manuals do not publish a formal family name for the Classic; inventing one from the form factor would be an inference. |
| identity.upc | The official product page, manual, data sheet, and confirmed Amazon listing did not publish a UPC or GTIN for this exact Classic base configuration. |
| certified.certIndexKey | The local certification corpus splits the Classic family across separate file-number records W-10188, W-10193, W-10194, W-14617, and W-10195; no single index key represents the product's full certification scope, so selecting one would be misleading. |
| fit.bathroomsServed | AquaTru's product page, owner manual, performance data sheet, and live IAPMO listings publish no bathroom sizing because this is a manually filled point-of-use unit. |
| fit.householdSize | AquaTru's product page, owner manual, and performance data sheet do not state a supported household-size range. |
| fit.dimensions | AquaTru's own live product page conflicts with itself: the technical-specification section says 12 × 14 × 14 inches, while its FAQ says 15.5 × 14.5 × 16.5 inches; no higher-tier source resolved the discrepancy. |
| fit.pressureRange | The official manual and performance data sheet publish no inlet-pressure range for this manually filled countertop unit. |
| fit.connectionSize | The official sources specify no plumbing connection size because the Classic is filled by hand and requires no plumbing. |
| cost.msrp | The official product page displayed a current $475 selling price but did not label a manufacturer suggested retail price, so the price belongs only in streetPrice. |
| install.estimatedHours | The manual says setup is ready in less than 10 minutes, but the quantity schema cannot preserve that upper-bound wording without turning it into an exact duration. |
| seo.verification | The independent verify loop has not yet run; it owns and stamps this field after re-deriving the record. |
Every source behind this page
- Brand officialaccessed: 2026-08-30https://aquatru.com/products/countertop-reverse-osmosis-water-purifier
- AquaTru's live Classic product page showed the product in stock with an active Add to Cart control.
- The Classic requires no plumbing or installation and operates from an AC wall plug.
- AquaTru's product FAQ gives the clean-water tank capacity as 0.75 gallons (2.8 liters).
- AquaTru states that the countertop purifier operates from a 120-volt AC wall plug.
- The product page says the Classic requires no plumbing or installation.
- AquaTru's live Classic product page displayed a $475.00 purchase price.
- The product page says the countertop unit requires no plumbing or installation.
- AquaTru's Classic product page displays a 30-Day Money Back Guarantee.
- The page labels its customer-review summary as AI-generated and identifies taste, long-lasting filters, and ease of use as praise themes.
- The page labels its customer-review summary as AI-generated and identifies customer service and unit size as mixed themes.
- The Classic price was $475 and the unit requires no plumbing.
- AquaTru's Classic page displayed $475.00.
- AquaTru's FAQ says the Classic is the larger countertop model, uses dedicated Classic filters, is not compatible with Carafe filters, and has a 0.75-gallon clean-water tank.
- The live product page showed Classic and Classic Smart selectors but no Smart-only specification in the captured page text.
- The Classic product page says it operates from a 120-volt AC wall plug.
- Manufacturer datasheetaccessed: 2026-08-30https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0758/4550/1142/files/AQT_CLASSIC_Manual.pdf
- The Classic is a powered, manually filled countertop RO system.
- The manual limits use to municipally treated or otherwise microbiologically safe water and publishes hardness and feed-water limits.
- The manual describes a dual-stage sediment and activated-carbon prefilter, an RO membrane at stage 3, and an activated-carbon VOC filter at stage 4.
- The manual publishes a 1500 mg/L inlet TDS limit.
- The manual sets maximum hardness at 10 gpg and warns that harder water rapidly scales the RO membrane unless softened.
- The manual publishes a pH 3 to 11 inlet range.
- The manual publishes a 5 NTU maximum inlet turbidity.
- The manual specifies electrical input and tells users to keep the unit plugged in for accurate filter-life tracking.
- The Classic manual gives a rated flowrate of 0.06 gpm.
- The manual specifies 40-100°F and separately instructs not to operate below 40°F or where temperatures exceed 100°F.
- The manual directs the user to discard concentrate retained in the removable tap-water tank rather than connect a drain.
- The manual provides a consumer setup procedure and states no tools are required.
- The manual reports 75% efficiency and says the tap-water tank remains about one-quarter full when concentrate must be discarded; 25:75 simplifies to 1:3.
- The manual contains the one-year limited warranty, original-purchaser scope, and exclusions.
- The manual labels setup Easy Installation, says it is ready in less than 10 minutes, and requires no tools.
- The Classic manual explicitly says no tools are required.
- Official AquaTru Classic owner's manual for AT2000, AT2010, AT2020, AT2030, AT2040, and AT2050.
- The manual specifies weekly tank cleaning, concentrate disposal at each refill, nitrate/nitrite testing, and conditional descaling.
- The manual advises keeping the unit plugged in for accurate filter-life tracking.
- IAPMO listingaccessed: 2026-08-30http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/18728
- IAPMO R&T file W-10188 lists models AT2000 through AT2050 to NSF/ANSI 42.
- W-10188 names AT2000 through AT2050 under NSF/ANSI 42.
- IAPMO R&T's NSF/ANSI 42 listing identifies the Classic model-number family.
- IAPMO listingaccessed: 2026-08-30http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/18729
- IAPMO R&T file W-10193 lists models AT2000 through AT2050 to NSF/ANSI 53.
- W-10193 names AT2000 through AT2050 under NSF/ANSI 53.
- IAPMO listingaccessed: 2026-08-30http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/18730
- IAPMO R&T file W-10194 lists models AT2000 through AT2050 to NSF/ANSI 58.
- IAPMO R&T file W-10194 lists a daily production rate of 54 for AT2000 through AT2050.
- W-10194 names AT2000 through AT2050 under NSF/ANSI 58.
- IAPMO R&T's NSF/ANSI 58 listing gives the Classic RO reduction claims.
- The live IAPMO R&T reduction-claim text is Arsenic (Pentavalent) ≤ 50 ppb.
- IAPMO listingaccessed: 2026-08-30http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/18845
- IAPMO R&T file W-14617 lists models AT2000 through AT2050 to NSF/ANSI 372.
- W-14617 names AT2000 through AT2050 under NSF/ANSI 372.
- IAPMO listingaccessed: 2026-08-30http://myplc.iapmo.org/certificate#/18731
- IAPMO R&T file W-10195 lists models AT2000 through AT2050 to NSF/ANSI 401.
- W-10195 names AT2000 through AT2050 under NSF/ANSI 401.
- IAPMO R&T's NSF/ANSI 401 listing gives the Classic emerging-compound claims.
- Manufacturer datasheetaccessed: 2026-08-30https://cdn.builder.io/o/assets%2Ff2b06d2e554043f0b2703af08544b2a3%2F9690b90c9c08467080bdba215610de6c?alt=media&token=da74efaa-b867-40b4-81e6-f952fae6fdb0&apiKey=f2b06d2e554043f0b2703af08544b2a3
- The performance data sheet carries this microbiological-safety caution.
- The arsenic facts section limits performance to pentavalent arsenic and says other forms may not be removed.
- The performance data sheet gives a less-than-0.1 mg/L sulphide inlet limit.
- The performance data sheet gives a less-than-0.1 mg/L iron inlet limit.
- The performance data sheet gives a less-than-0.1 mg/L manganese inlet limit.
- The performance data sheet gives a less-than-2 ppm chlorine inlet limit.
- The performance data sheet requires adequate disinfection for microbiologically unsafe or unknown-quality water, separately publishes inlet limits, and says water above 10 gpg hardness should be softened before the RO system.
- The data sheet gives AT2001 as 6 months or 600 gallons, AT2002 as 24 months or 1,200 gallons, and AT2003 as 12 months or 600 gallons.
- The OEM data sheet supplies the 6-, 12-, and 24-month replacement intervals used in the total.
- The OEM performance data sheet publishes the filter model numbers, month intervals, and gallon intervals.
- The data sheet gives the microbiological-safety caution and the inlet-water quality limits.
- The data sheet says the system reduces pentavalent arsenic but may not remove other forms.
- Retailer listingaccessed: 2026-08-30https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0F2GRXV71
- Amazon's exact base AquaTru unit listing displayed $475.00 and in-stock availability.
- Amazon's confirmed base-unit listing displayed $475.00.
- Brand officialaccessed: 2026-08-30https://aquatru.com/collections/classic-filters
- AquaTru listed AT2001 at $29.95, AT2002 at $59.95, and AT2003 at $39.95; annual costs are arithmetic from those prices and intervals.
- Current prices for AT2001, AT2002, and AT2003 support the ten-year replacement-cost arithmetic.
- Brand officialaccessed: 2026-08-30https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyjtY94IeFA
- AquaTru's official How to Get Started With Your AquaTru video demonstrates initial setup.
- Government agencyaccessed: 2026-08-30https://www.cpsc.gov/s3fs-public/recall-data/recalls_recall_listing.csv
- The CPSC all-recalls dataset contained no AquaTru or Aqua Tru match when checked on 2026-08-30.
- Unverifiedaccessed: 2026-08-30https://news.google.com/rss/search?q=%22AquaTru%22%20%28recall%20OR%20lawsuit%20OR%20litigation%29&hl=en-US&gl=US&ceid=US:en
- A Google News RSS search for AquaTru with recall, lawsuit, or litigation terms returned four unrelated product or partnership stories and no matching AquaTru recall or litigation report on 2026-08-30.
Cite this page
TapWaterData Editorial. "AquaTru Classic Review: Cost, Specs & Cert Check." TapWaterData, verified 2026-08-30. https://www.tapwaterdata.com/filters/brand/aquatru/classic
Stay Informed About Your Water Quality
Get EPA reports, filter recommendations, and safety alerts for your area.
Weekly water-quality guidance for your area. Unsubscribe anytime.